Your way and my way

One thing that was glaringly questionable to his family was my food habits. My family is vegetarian. They are non-vegetarians. In our community, vegetarians would be hard pressed to find. Here goes the conversation Zack and I had during one of our chats.

I am a pure vegetarian.

Yeah, so? I am also a ‘pure’ non-vegetarian.

No eggs too

I see

I wont cook either

No need, I myself am quite a good cook. In fact, you should check with my friends about my culinary skills

You sure there wont be any issues after marriage?

See, refraining from eating non-vegetarian food is your wish. I wont ask you to eat just because all of us here eat

Very happy to hear that

Now I have a question for you

Be my guest

Do you mind if someone else eats non-veg when you are eating? Your guest adores non-veg

Hahaha, so my guest loves non-veg…no issues with everyone else eating non-veg in the same table as me

Seriously? I have met vegetarians who make faces and do what-not if they have to share a table

Oh is it..I am not one of them then

Cool

After marriage, I found it very easy to adjust. On Sundays when eating meat is the norm, I would cook something for myself.

But one thing which I find I absurd till date is shunning non-veg on Thursdays and Saturdays.

Zack says on Thursdays the family does not eat because they are followers of Sai Baba and Lord Venkateshwara will be unhappy if they eat meat on Saturdays.

The first time I heard thisΒ I was like “Whhhhaaatttt ”

Lord Venkateshwara will be happy and bless you if you eat on Sunday or Monday but will take offense on Saturdays? And what, Sai Baba will curse you if you eat eggs on Thursday?

No matter how hard I try to make him see the logic, he refuses to skip the no-meat-on-thursday-and-saturday rule.

 

24 thoughts on “Your way and my way

  1. Visha,

    Ditto. Ditto. I am the herbivore and my better half is the omnivore. But never felt unwasy sharing tables and we had a pretty much similar conversation – including the better half saying he cooks pretty well and that I can ask his friends. eerie, no?

    A very nice snippet there πŸ™‚

  2. Its more like sticking to the the family traditions (you don’t have to have a logic for that :),however absurd that might be) I am a pucca non vegetarian and I do have some friends who don’t like to see non veg anywhere near them…

  3. Glad i stumbled on your blog too:) Will be following you. Ah, food habits! I am a strict non vegetarian and i hate sharing table with vegans:P

  4. Ah, I agree with this one. Although my boyfriend is a muslim he is a nonveggie and i am a veggie (no eggs either). But i’ve heard people say that they don’t eat non veg on fridays because it is unclean and/or impure. my question is, if you think it’s impure, why eat at all. :-/

  5. We both are vegeterian but he eats eggs but doesn’t have on tuesdays, thursdays and saturdays. What is with men about this stuff!!!

    • Hello BlueMist!!

      Welcome πŸ™‚

      Lot of his relatives are still waiting for me to create a ruckus about the eating habits πŸ˜›

      But why this ‘Thursday’ and ‘Saturday’ bais?? 😦

  6. Oh I know what you mean and I truly don’t understand the logic too…but any way to each his own πŸ™‚

    Lucky for you that there is no pestering after you to start non veg and for them too that you don’t mind them eating meat along with you πŸ™‚

    • Yes..to each his own

      They are actually confused as to why I havent jumped the non-veg bandwagon yet since all in the family as well as the extended members are hard-core lovers πŸ˜‰

Would love to read your views :)

