Special days

Special days like anniversaries and birthdays paint a bright picture which includes celebrations, laughter and of course food πŸ˜‰

I was accustomed to seeing this image when I was single. Agreed – it would be simple, without much fan-fare and parties, there would be no cake cutting when I was with my parents – birthdays were still special – awesome food the whole day, outing and pampering the whole day long πŸ˜€

But thanks to my erratic family-in-law, discussing about this picture or implementing this makes me an outcast and a laughing-stock in my family.

How you ask?

On any special day like a birthday or someone’s anniversary, I will be very happy, visualising everyone discussing the ‘special’ day. When I see no one even mentioning the event, I will ask out aloud, it’s so and so’s birthday/anniversary, have you all forgotten or what. I will get bewildered looks and an answer nevertheless,Β Oh is it, we forgot about it completely, good that we have you who has a good memory. Zack will be beaming seeing his wife getting complimented while I will be at loss of words. I wont get the gist and continue foolishly, So what is the gift and where is the party. There will be laughter echoing throughout the house. What are we, little kids?Β No party and all, we will go to the temple and that’s it.Β 

Now don’t get me wrong, folks who are over 50 telling this to me is completely understandable. But I had to hear this from

  • my brother-in-law on his 8th marriage anniversary ( I’ll be honest – this is somewhat acceptable since he is 35)
  • Β from my dear hubby on his 28th birthday ( I had married him exactly 18 days ago, so I thought for my sake he is willing to keep it simple, since I was new to the city and he did not wish to have me wanderΒ off to buy a surprise gift or arrange a get-together and get lost)
  • from my niece on her 11th birthday.This was a true face-palm event for me. While I asked her mom as to why she is acting like a 65-year-old granny, I was told they had celebrated the 10th birthday in a grand way and they are now waiting for another 7 years to make her 18th year a special one. Small joy indeed – said my mind πŸ™‚

So after a lot of observations and permutations/combinations of the ages,I came to this conclusion. With my family-in-law, days like birthdays and anniversaries of over 25’s are strictly restricted to a visit to the temple early in the morning. For under 10’s, it is a cake cutting ceremony and a dinner on a weekend irrespective of which day the birthday falls. For the rest of the souls, that is over 10’s and under 25’s – it is either a mix of both or one or the other.

I do not have any grudge against getting up early and going to the temple, but on special days, there should be something which is out of routine. Like a movie or shopping or an elaborate dinner at home. My family-in-law did not see a radical nutcase like me with them for a long time. Hence when I brought about some changes in the way special days are celebrated, it was not met with appreciation at first, but slowly it was accepted πŸ™‚

Zack’s 29th birthday was celebrated with a visit to the temple early in the morning ( Β the family will ostracize me if this is avoided ), since it was a working day – what all I had planned had to be done in the night only. So we cut a nice cake at about 10 in the night, followed by gifts and yummy dinner.

Pineapple flavour

Pineapple and litchi cake

Now it also does not help when yours truly has a number of special days apart from birthdays and anniversaries. I am such a weirdo that I will go on looking for something notable which is worth celebrating on any given day. In my defence, I would say since it is already a hectic life, why not go out looking for small joys and bring out some cheer.

Did I hear someone say – typical girlie stuff Β ? You bet πŸ˜›

When I gifted Zack a huge rose on the morning of our first-meet-anniversary, he was shocked beyond words.

( what-the-hell-is today look ) Β “What is this Visha”

( beaming to the core ) Β “Happy meet anniversary Zack”

(Β Is she out-of-her-mind lookΒ ) Β “Happy whaatt??”

( asΒ if I am explaining him the obviousΒ ) Β “Meet anniversary dear..today is the day we met for the first time”

(Β struck by a hammer lookΒ ) Β “Is it..ok ok..”

And so it has been for a number of small anniversaries. The day I came to his house, the day I wrote him the first email, etc..etc..

Zack: How come you manage to remember all those dates?

Me: Dunno how, it just stays. Something special to celebrate on a seemingly routine and normal day. What say?

Zack:Β Haha, that’s so true dear.

Incidentally, today is also an anniversary. This day, two years ago, he called me for the first time. When I wrote to him about this in his daily morning email, this is his reply – Happy talking anniversary… πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “Special days

  1. Happy talking anniversary indeed… πŸ™‚ who would not want ot hear you when you talk/write so well.. πŸ™‚ they really don’t celebrate the normal way? πŸ˜‰ and hey, even at 35 it is not acceptable … those who like cutting cakes, gifting roses or cards do it for looong looong time…

    • Hey Jas πŸ™‚

      They do it the normal way now..or rather forced to do it πŸ˜€

      They are rather conservative on showing affection – cards and roses have still not found their way in…but so far, so good with dinners and cakes πŸ™‚

      Aah..thanks for the wishes πŸ˜‰

  2. Its great that you celebrate the small things, don’t ever look for a reason to celebrate and party – just do it.

    It leads me to the question – If we keep looking for reasons to avoid celebration then why even do the big holidays like Diwali or Ramzan or Christmas? Waste of money right?

    Happy Call anniversary.

    Cheers πŸ™‚

    • Celebration and party are made all the more memorable if something is attached to it.

      Agree to you on the festival part – What do we exactly do on a festival? Buy new clothes, do some pooja, gather/meet/greet relatives, eat and be merry. All this can be done on any given day, no need to fuss on waiting for the ‘day’

      Opinion appreciated AS πŸ™‚

  3. hehe…..This happens with everyone in in-laws house, I guess! But its not this extreme at my place but the best part is my man takes me on a mini vacation on every special day πŸ˜€

    And about the small celebrations thing, its opposite with us! He celebrates call day, meet day, hug day, kiss day, this day, that day and other days! He has even listed it in his cell phone reminder list! But I never give him weird looks as I am completely okay with the small gifts he showers on me πŸ˜€

    And Happy call day anniversary! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Hey, i have the same question, how do you manage to remember all the dates??? but seriously sweet:)
    Happy talking anniversary, hope you find more & more days to celebrate……

  5. Soooooper this is πŸ™‚ Finding reasons to celebrate, why not? If there is a reason to dine and dance why give it up?
    I totally know what you mean. Go on, go on, live it up πŸ™‚

    I do it too but sometimes my better half remembers better :))

    • Toffee πŸ™‚

      Aah…I have a co-celebrater now πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Hmm…seems you and CD have to sit back and relax while your guys remember the days and celebrate πŸ˜›

  6. I am just like you Visha.. I can remember details and dates so well – exact opposite to husband πŸ˜› At times, I give so many clues to find out whats on my mind for celebration, he doesnt catch up πŸ™‚ I must admit, I can really not remember as good as you though πŸ™‚

    • Welcome GB πŸ™‚

      Cant tell how much I love your name πŸ˜›

      Same here…no amount of game playing lights the bulb in his mind that today must be something special…maybe they are wired that way πŸ˜€

      Glad to see you here!!

  7. awwwww, thats really sweet. remembering and celebrating special days, and like you mentioned, in our hectic lives, small joys as such, make life worth living πŸ™‚ …

    one year from now, would be a “happy blog followed day” πŸ™‚ ….

  8. aww happy talking anniversary [belated] πŸ™‚

    I’m very much like you…for me every special day has to be celebrated…and yes even I get some weird reactions from people whom I call to wish on their b’days…like once I called my uncle in law on his b’day and asked ‘so what’s todays plans of celebrations?’ to which he replied ‘celebration? for what?” hehehe

    I think it depends on person to person..and then it flows from generation to generations..like now that you’re like this-celebration lover and all that-you might changed the trend of not-celebrating in your in-law side?

    and note that celebration for me doesn’t mean buying expensive gifts or going for holidays and all that..well I don’t mind that πŸ˜‰ but celebrating in the terms of doing something out the routine,like you said…

    I agree all days are worth celebrating but days like b’day and anniversaries give us that chance to be extra special and behave like a celebrity πŸ˜‰ lol

    • haha..thank you thank you

      I had the same reaction from my FIL, he was like – what celebration, I was like, no..we will make something special for dinner πŸ˜€

      Slowly, I am trying to inject the celebration bug into the family..it has a 50-50% success ratio I can say..

      Even if I wish, holidays and gifts are simply out of question..Zack does not believe in it ( I would say he does not know how to do it πŸ˜› )
      I celebrate by giving a long-wala hug and a single rose or making his fav food item…

Would love to read your views :)

