Honey, where is the moon?

What do newly weds do on their honeymoon?

Since I have a mature audience, I do not need to answer this question πŸ˜›

Now what did Zack and Visha do in their honeymoon?

Zack slept through most of it and Visha sat contemplating how to disrupt his peaceful and the world-may-come-to-an-end-I-dont-care snores.

No, I kid you not.

Agreed, the wedding was tiring. 3 days of madness, back-breaking rituals, temple visits, family lunch dates.

But to sleep, sleep and keep on sleeping on your honeymoon?

This is a true story, so do not have a notion that I am cooking this story. In fact, when my in-laws heard about our honeymoon, after the expected cloudburst of laughters, I got the full sympathy while he got the much deserved tch-tchs.

Exactly on the 4th day after the wedding, our supposed honeymoon to SriLanka started. I should have caught the hint which the wind God was throwing to me when I saw Zack’s eyes drooping away while we awaited our flight’s departure. But sadly, I let it go and was hooked to the flight status notice board flashing now and then. Once we landed after an uneventful airborne journey, we had a cheerful guy waiting for us with a placard welcoming us. Inwardly, I was impressed by his choice of place as well as selection of the tour package agency. The moment Zack made sure I was seated comfortably inside the car, he dumped the luggage and promptly went off to sleep sitting besides me. The bemused look upon our guide’s face was enough to seal the fate of our honeymoon.

Once we reached our hotel near the beach, I shook him gently. Maybe or because it was lunch time, he woke up after the third prod. After check-in and a hurried lunch, needless to say, he crashed into the bed. Meanwhile, I spent a good part of the noon, admiring the rose wood furniture and shiny bathroom fittings. I inwardly cursed myself for not bringing even one book, thinking where would be the time to read when erm..there are other things to do? When he woke up from his slumber, it was already 7 in the evening.

“Visha, am all refreshed now, lets go out and do some sightseeing. First we will go at the beach and play in the water.”

“At 7 in the evening honey?”

“Whaaatt? Its 7? Gosh, I did not know I was asleep for so long.What did you do the whole noon?”

I was eyeing the flower vase when he asked this, I think he put 2 and 2 and thought it better not to question me further. We went around for a walk, had dinner. I was totally exhausted by the end of the day and promptly slept off the moment I entered our room. ZackΒ makes sure the door is locked, curtains are drawn, gives a good-night kiss and ……….5 minutes later, I hear his snores.

In the 4 days of our planned itinerary, we missed many such sight-seeing chances due to Zack’s erratic sleep schedules. Apart from the mandatory afternoon nap, the time between breakfast and lunch and evening tea and dinner would invariably be spent sleeping.Whatever time we could squeeze in with his eyes fully open, we spent walking, shopping, mountain climbing.

It was Day 3 I think. We had returned to our room after a sumptuous English breakfast. Instead of taking me out, my darling hubby chose to succumb to the comfort of the huge bed. After an hour or so, he opened an eye to find me sitting right besides him. Pulling me gently towards him, he started patting me to sleep. He could not see how his kind and sweet wife became a violent one amidst the shower of unending pillow hits. Right and left. Again and again. On and on I went. The hits lasted for about 5 minutes I think. With a bewildered look in his eyes, he said

“What the hell Visha, what happened? Did I say anything wrong during breakfast? Heck, I did not even do anything. I am just sleeping without disturbing you”

“My point exactly Zack. You are NOT doing anything”

Tube light flickered in his mind.

And thus the holy concept of honeymoon was saved of its re-definition.

 

 

42 thoughts on “Honey, where is the moon?

  1. ROFLMAO

    My sympathies to you Mrs. Zack but I think you can use this episode to demand a second honeymoon possibly to a more exotic place – say Europe with the promise that he will not doze off comfortably there (have to warn you that Europe makes one very drowsy with the fickle cloudy weather and the super comfy beds that they have here)

    There, you have a sinister plan – I knew I should have taken up lobbying as a career against Engineering :P.

    Cheers πŸ™‚

    • No ways AS…cloudy weather + comfy beds = Blissfully sleepy Zack. My European tour would have me clicking sceneries only πŸ˜›

      I should be planning for a desert if I get a chance though 😈

      Hehe..yeah..you will definitely rock as a lawyer πŸ˜›

  2. ha ha… that’s the weirdest story I have heard of a honeymoon… thank God for the tube light… πŸ˜€ see it flickers sometimes…

  3. ha ha ha that was very hilarious.. Lot of hugs to u Visha..

    Oh God why are all this men so similar?? Like Zack, my hubby Appi also sleeps to glory and this habbit of him irritates me the most.. I love to sleep ont he bed n hv a quite conversation b4 dozing off, but this guy doesnt allow it to happen as he wud hv dozed off to glory Zzzzz already…

    So wat was Zack’s punishment to hv taken u to Srilanka and that too on a Honeymoon and Slept???

  4. BWAHAHHAHAHHAHA ….

    I loved the dialogue “i dnt even do anything” πŸ˜€ …;) .. hehhheh poor Zack .. lol…Seems like you did have an “eventful honeymoon”, well with the sight seeing thrown in πŸ˜€ …

    all i n al, an absonfreakinlutely fantastic read ..

    • Welcome ME!!

      Glad to see you here πŸ™‚

      The fact that he could not understand that sleep should be the last thing on his mind while on a honeymoon is what bugs me to no end…sigh…

  5. πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    Till now, I had assumed only S had the capability to sleep 20hrs a day.. But then he wasn’t sleeping during our honeymoon πŸ˜† Otherwise, he loves to sleep and I love to wake him up.. πŸ‘Ώ

    I cant believe Zack wasted time sleeping… that too for full three days!! 😯 Thank God, you acted atleast on day -3 and his tubelight flickered πŸ˜€

    • You bet…if Zack comes to know nobody is gonna disturb him for 18-20 hrs, he will gladly hit the bed right away…no second thoughts about it πŸ˜†

      The first two days I sat debating with myself whether to torture him into waking up or not, but since I was seriously getting bored…I had to act πŸ˜€

  6. haha….This was exactly how my honeymoon was. The only difference was that I was sleeping all the time and he was well….umm….waiting πŸ˜€ We missed our complimentry breakfast every single day! And top of that he played high school musical series thinking that I was unaware of what happened in honeymoons πŸ˜€

    • 😯

      You slept off?? God, I exactly know what your man must be thinking all the time

      πŸ™„

      “meri CD kab jaagegi ” πŸ˜€

      Hehe, next to sleep, food is Zack’s priority. He would get up at the nick of the time just not to miss the breakfast and then crash into the bed again saying my stomach is full πŸ˜€

      High School Musical series? Aww..thats so cute of him πŸ™‚

  7. LOL this was a super fun anecdote to read. Glad you managed to awaken him before the honeymoon was over. πŸ˜€

    Being the wise couple that we are, we knew we would be exhausted after the wedding, so we went for the honeymoon about 15 days after the marriage. πŸ˜€

    • Sigh..I ended up being the one who took matters in hand πŸ˜₯

      I did suggest we go out after a couple of weeks, but he citied office leaves to wiggle out of that 😐

      But am happy I could salvage one and a half day atleast πŸ˜†

  8. πŸ˜†

    that’s what we both did – we slept nicely on our honeymoon!! Ate ice cream for breakfast and took long walks in the evening!

  9. a honey moon soon after the wedding makes everybody tiresome. I remember that I had slept off on the day of our wedding on the way to reception itself, and the cameraman asked me to wash my face as it was looked all swollen πŸ˜‰ however honeymoon happened a long time after wedding as we had to join offices early,and so husband turned lucky.. its been 5 yrs after the wedlock,and still he complains that i doze off as soon as i hit the sack,… πŸ˜‰

    • I did ask Zack to postpone the trip by atleast a couple of weeks, but his office manager would not accept he said. On second thoughts, maybe he wanted to finish off all the ‘tasks’ related to marriage πŸ˜‰

      Gosh, you must have been so tired to sleep before the reception πŸ˜€

      Hehe, good to know there are few who turn the tables πŸ˜‰

  10. You are the epitome of patience Visha ! πŸ˜›

    And ya, we kind of planned a trip after about a month to avoid the tiredness. It is true that the weddings do leave a lot of catching up to do interms of sleep. I’d have probably been the Zack if we had planned a trip soon. But I guess he gave you a blogpost to write about ! πŸ™‚

    This one brought a niiiiiiiiice smile (and laughter) πŸ˜›

    • Yeah…patience and me go hand in hand 😐

      Hehe…this is a everyday story re Toffee…Zack loves sleep more than anything else in this world ( yep, even me – unless it is a life threatening situation you see ) What patience is to me, sleep is to Zack πŸ˜›

      Hehe..smile + laughter is a healthy combo πŸ™‚

  11. Hahaha, well at least he got the point finally. πŸ˜€ Really fun post this was. Reminds me of when M used to sleep a lot in the first year of our marriage. Do you think it’s a coping mechanism for them?

    • haha..he was made to see the point πŸ˜€

      Zack is a perennial sleeper, irrespective of his marriage status. There have been times I have been told, were he used to sleep till 12 PM πŸ˜†

  12. what was that? totally ROFL Visha πŸ™‚ cracked me up…

    I remember we had a huge fight during our first honey moon and lot of days were spent pretty much like that in getting angry and manaofying each other πŸ˜‰ hehehe I think every honey moon kuch kehta hai? πŸ˜‰

Would love to read your views :)

