Romance reloaded

Cards. Flowers. Candle-light dinners. Gifts. Mush. Chocolates. Secret night-outs. Discotheques. Lovey-dovey text messages. Surprises. Vacations.

All the above mentioned stuff are inevitable between two people in love.

But not between Zack and Visha.

Zack is as un-romantic as one can imagine. And I am what you call the hopelessly romantic. No wonder it is said opposites attract.

Come to think of it, he was at this romantic best before marriage. On my birthday, since he was 2000 km away from me, he sent me a bunch of red roses and a card, which were given to me by the courier guy. Maybe after starting to live with me, whatever was left of his romanticism went up in a puff of smoke πŸ™„

But then, I think we redefine what is the general idea of romantic πŸ˜›

 

He getting home crispy masala vadas for her when there is lightning and thunder outside and a hint of rain.

She making him coffee when the rain has started pouring.

He waiting an extra hour at the office just so that he can pick her up from office on days she is late.

She making sure they stop at the snacks shop even though it is late just so that he gets to devour on his favourite masala dosa.

He keeping an eye for her favourite fruits when they go food and grocery shopping and slipping it in the trolley without her knowledge.

She on the lookout of that particular brand of perfume which he likes and is very lazy to hunt for himself.

He messaging her when he leaves from office – no matter it contains just two letters “L N” (Leaving now)

She smiling seeing the message, knowing how he absolutely hates text messaging and calling him back to say “Take care”

He trying his best to make it to the paani-puri kiosk because he promised they would eat her favourite paani-puri every Friday evening

She as usual reaching there a bit earlier and pre-ordering his favourite masala-puri so that it is ready sizzling hot after the plate of paani-puri is over – just the way he likes it

πŸ™‚

 

Happy weekend folks!

 

52 thoughts on “Romance reloaded

  1. Awww that’s so cute !! And i guess love is all about these small sweet things special to each individual couple πŸ™‚ And the paani-puri and masala puri every Friday !!! Wow !!!! And about that ‘leaving now’ message..feels so special everyday na..even hubby calls me everyday on reaching and before leaving office πŸ™‚

  2. Awwww………..My man is exactly like this but he is romantic too πŸ˜€
    He brings me perfume of his choice which I hate but can’t tell him because atleast he tried!
    And the masala vada and coffee thing- Shame to shame!
    He hates south Indian cuisine and south Indian food is my second love, still he takes me to all the south Indian outlets and I hate tea/coffee but I make for him πŸ™‚
    And Yes, he calls just to inform that he reached and he will be leaving, no matter how busy he is!
    Aree………..couples like us redefine romance our own way! πŸ™‚

    • Ask him to pass on his romanticism to Zack some time no πŸ˜›

      Same pinch πŸ˜€

      Another case of opposites attract πŸ™‚

      Wait..if south indian food is your second love, what is your first πŸ˜›

      yep…romantic ho na ho – romance to hai πŸ˜‰

  3. Awww… really cute.. πŸ™‚ actually with time definition of love keeps on changing… while reading this I was thinking about my hubby because he is also the non romantic types…

  4. Now I have to say tht I hate you for this My heart yearns!! I am far away from someone I brutally love. Grrr
    “He waiting an extra hour at the office just so that he can pick her up from office on days she is late.”
    BUHUHUUHUHUH SO CUTE!!!
    May God always be with u two!

    • Haha…I completely understand why you hate me. We did not meet each other for 8 months from the day we started loving each other.

      Thanks Red πŸ™‚

  5. exactly like me and S πŸ˜€ I can relate to this stuff so much… and I love this way of romance much better than the pre-wedding days one πŸ˜€

    i loved this post so much Visha… πŸ™‚ let the romance reload every year with more love and understanding πŸ˜€

    • GB!!! Are you back in Bangalore?

      Hehe…I think the mushy romantic type hubby’s are only a handful in number πŸ˜†

      Thank you so much for the wishes GB πŸ™‚

  6. I love this post! πŸ™‚
    It reminds me of Bangalore and home and the things we used to do for each other…
    We still do things for each other, but, its different because I can’t preoder K’s fave Chai at the local bakery or eat paani-puri at the roadside!
    such a mushymushy post! πŸ™‚ you guys are totally romantic according to me!! πŸ™‚

    • Oh yeah, living in India has its own perks and charms. Hope you find its equivalents over there too Pixie πŸ˜‰

      Totally romantic!! Thanks Pixie πŸ™‚

  7. LOVED this post, Visha! It is so like us between the OH and me too. πŸ™‚ I am a hopeless romantic, always dreaming of secret getaways and surprise red roses and notes in the kitchen, but the OH is one super-practical man and aeons away from all this fairy-tale-ish stuff. As much as I would love to get my fairy-tale romance once in a while **Hint hint hint** **Is someone listening?** I have understood that everyone’s perception of romance is different.

    The OH romances me in his own special ways day after day after day. Like getting me my favourite chaat to office when I am going to be late from work, taking me for a drive when it is just about to rain (though he hates it, just because I love it), picking up fruits and fresh vegetables for me when he knows I haven’t been eating well, indulging my whims and ordering those quirky items that he knows I want but which other people would just turn a blind eye to, tiptoeing out of the bedroom in the mornings on weekends when he wakes up early so that I don’t wake up, so that I get my much-needed sleep… ah, the list is endless. Love comes in many forms, and I am glad I realised that early on in my marriage. πŸ˜€

    • Hai na?

      Gosh how much would I like Zack to get me a bunch of roses as a surprise…but for the life of me, even if I get him to stand in front of a bouquet shop it wont strike for him to get me a bunch…. πŸ˜†

      Taking you to a drive when it is gonna rain?? Super sweet. That definitely is romantic..I hope you complement to this act by singing the rain songs πŸ˜›

      Yep..love comes in different ways…only we need to notice and respect it πŸ™‚

  8. Such a lovey lovey dovey dovey post Visha ! πŸ™‚ Zack is so romantic :)) messaging and masala vadas and chaats and fruits – come on ya ! (Bah: I dislike roses so overlook my bias for vadas anyday!)
    I am a bigtime romantic too wanting surprise ribbon tied boxes or even chocolates and books (give them anytime) and lots of stationaries (I just love them) and CDs and blah ! (okie, you got the hint ) πŸ˜› and K is always living up to it in his own way sometimes even gifting potted plants πŸ™‚ I love the way he defines romance beyond flowers πŸ™‚ Sometimes we walk into a store and he will be like “Okie, today your surprise gift is any pair of shoes from here” – now, what more would I want? gimme shoes just gimme shoes πŸ˜›
    Aaaaah, I am all mushy thanks to your post πŸ™‚

    Loved reading this girlie ! πŸ™‚ God Bless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Hehe..do I read some ‘wanted’ items in your wish list πŸ˜†

      Potted plants is sweet πŸ™‚ But am sure both of u check if it is ‘real’ or not *ahem*ahem* πŸ™„

      Shopping must be thrilling if you have such surprises πŸ™‚

      Glad you liked this one!

  9. Now this is such a happy post. You guys are brimming with romance. πŸ™‚ Why would you need to redefine the term ‘romantic’? Each one of us has our own definitions, isn’t it? It isn’t just about the roses. Sometimes, even looking up to glance at you silently while working on the laptop can be considered romantic. πŸ™‚

  10. Am happy Visha, that you and Zack can find happiness in those smallest things in life. Happy,thoughtful post. And as pepper says, we all are romantic but in our own ways.

  11. Me and him ,are two complete pure unromantics ! Our idea of a good date (actually we dont even like calling it a date) is eating all the amazing food we love πŸ˜‰

    But yeah,he tried to eat pani puri too,he cant..everytime he tries he starts choking and his eyes start watering πŸ˜€

    • No wonder it is said opposites attract πŸ˜€

      Oh yeah, eating with the person you love is total bliss πŸ™‚

      Maybe you should teach him the perfect technique to eat πŸ˜‰

  12. Chooooo Chweet……Touch wood….May you keep reloading your romance πŸ™‚
    BTW my hubby is also pretty similar, he took me to tea stalls & science museum on dates…(yeah, we are very romantic!!!!)

  13. awwwww such a lovely dovey post visha.. Loved the way things are with u….
    I too am a v romantic person, would plan and give personalised giftz, make him feel special etc.. and expect the same from him, which never comes the way I want…

    But Appi too has is own defenition of romance, just taking me out for my fav paani poori stall which he dislikes, giving me a much needed foot massage when I am tired, massaging my head when I hv a head ache and preparing tea (and screwing it up :p) on the mornings when my body refuses to wake up.. :p Men are mysterious n are romantic in a v different manner, isn’t it??

    Wish Zack n u many more such lovey dovey years!! Hv fun

    • For them, they have different definitions
      For us, we have different
      Its all about implementing and enjoying both
      Variety is the spice after all πŸ˜†

      Thank you Deepsi, for the wonderful wishes πŸ™‚

  14. Having our own set of things to do under the tag of romanticism is being romantic in every which way πŸ™‚ There is no particular definition of being romantic πŸ™‚

    May ViZa always stay happy and romantic like this forever πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

