Simple things, simple joys

Over the weekend, I was reading Jeffery Archer’s Only Time Will Tell. The lifestyle of the people living before the Second World War has been depicted in a way, which made me think how could people be satisfied with that single telegram or with just a cup of tea for supper.

This may be the effect of reading the book, but I am on a contemplation mode. We often overlook the significance of simple things these days, not knowing how will life be, without them.

(a) I am not a vain person. To be frank, I do not even know what are the essentials of a make-up box. All I do is put some kaajal. But I doubt, there will be anyone who would not use the comb.

(b) Even with the regular visit to the malls and boutiques, nothing makes me more satisfied than wearing the well-fitted clothes which I get stitched from my tailor.

(c) Guests coming home for dinner? I do not worry about any elaborate menu consisting of starters and desserts. The simple dal-sabzi-rice makes them happy when I have a generous second or even third helpings of the same ready for them.

(d) The ball-point pen which rests in some corner of the dresser comes handy when you want to jot down a number, fill a form, sign a cheque, hold the socket while you plug in or doodle away to glory when you are free.

(e) One and two rupee coins are very valuable. You may say that they wont stay for long, but as of today, try taking a public transport without these coins and see the wrath of the conductor.

(f) With frequent power cuts now and then, the candle is what keeps us going through cooking and having dinner.

 

Would you like to add something here?

44 thoughts on “Simple things, simple joys

  1. Wow Visha, you sure are in contemplating mood and you got me also in that mood!!!
    When Zini is sleeping and i am cooking, the time i get to read a book by putting it on my oven πŸ™‚
    When i forget Zini’s sipper at a hotel and she reminds me to take it by shouting Titar Titar ( which means Sipper in Zini lingo)!!!
    Some of the small joys of my life…..

  2. There is nothing like a small walk in the cold breeze.. rather than using a car/bike..
    A slice of bread and jam/ a hot cup of noodles taste really great compared to the eloborate menu when hunger hits me hard.
    A dal-rice-potato-fry or curd-rice-with-pickle fills the tummy more than a hotel bought Biriyani.
    Reading a book gives more happiness than the TV or anything else..
    A small chat F2F would be much better than a 1000 msgs/online chat.
    My daily calendar gives me more sense on the date rather than the checking my calendar on my mobile phone..
    There is nothing like sleeping on the terrace on a really hot day.. when the cool breeze hits.. No AC room can give similar pleasure..
    the pleasure of bargaining-buying in the local vegetable market gives more satisfaction than going to a hyper market and picking up the packed veggies.

    There are definitely more… just my two cents πŸ™‚

    Visha, your post made me think of all these small pleasures and made me go happy all over again.. Thankuuu πŸ˜€

  3. Nice list Visha, I do love those fitting cloths from tailor too and I miss them so much here. Adding one from me

    Waking up in the morning between daughter and hubby both hugging me tight, small things yet big joys πŸ™‚

  4. Yeah the simple joys of life makes it all worthwhile !!! A cup of ginger tea, the smell of the gilli bheegi mitti,the first heavy rain of the season,the mangoes,the cuddling with hubby for a movie,the fresh breeze,the hot chapatis,a baby’s smile,a kind gesture on a random day,a talk with mom and dad, showing off the shopping to sis and friends,a good movie,the feel of paper,a book in hand,the aroma wafting through the kitchen,maybe just roasted papads or aloo bhajji, a lazy sunday morning…Could go on and on…could be a post in itself πŸ˜‰
    Nice thoughts there πŸ™‚

  5. That’s so true and really enjoyed that reflection. The smell of old books, the gleaming gold print on old books, the binding on books, the continuous loop of the same song, the familiar sight of lil kids comeing to ask you for money for Ganesh Chaturthi Puja, carryuing the grocery bag for ma, drying your hair in the sun and pretending to advertise for Brahmi aamla kesha taila (ya I did that), wearing a new dress for the first time and you feeling comfy and beautiful in it, looking at old wrinkled faces with toothless smiles, getting in a bus or train and someone just gets off leaving you with an empty seat all to yourself, the smell of incense sticks at home and teh familiar chanting, walkign upto to the kitchen to see ma’s face first in the morning, waking up to the right side because it is considered an auspicious start and also because it reminds you of home and makes you think you are with family :'(, smell of oil frying in the kitchen and especially the fresh smell of the first batch of dosas from freshly made batter, papads being roasted on the flame directly, brother claiming to have eaten off the last pineapple pastry and then when you start fighting, he brings out another new piece, father scolding you for reading Tinkle the day before exam and then laughing at you inspite of his anger, getting a surprise gift from a hubby just like that even if it is as short lived as a freshly baked muffin just coz’ the thought makes yopu feel on top of the world, listening to on top of the world and feeling like it – arey, this is becoming a post.

  6. i so loved ur post. In this fast pace life, we have forgotten that simple yet best things are always free n will always be.
    Though the list u mentioned n other fellow bloggers completes it all
    but I wud like to add here, The fun, the excitement when my entire family sits ALTOGETHER n chit chat on a lazy sunday or some other holiday wud do it all for me as against spending a vacation for 10-15 days.
    P.S new follower πŸ™‚

  7. beautiful list Visha! πŸ™‚

    I would add – smell of old books, the musty smell of the library in the Classics section
    Smell of baking a chocolate cake! the smell envelops the entire house and its comforting.
    Long walks
    Smell of rains
    holding hands πŸ™‚
    hugs
    hand-written notes, cards.! πŸ™‚

  8. Love your list and totally with you on all of it, other than the food bit. I love my dal, roti, sabzi, but I also love experimenting with and eating food that is labelled as ‘exotic’

    I also love having people for dinner, and I love whipping up starters and desserts of different kinds. πŸ˜€

    • I have no takers for food which is even slightly away from the usual course. Neither my in-laws nor the extended family who are the guests most of the time. The farthest they have gone apart from the usual South-Indian fare is aloo paratha πŸ™„

      Please hop over to my place, I shall be able to experiment at least πŸ˜‰

  9. A short sweet post about simple things in life and I so liked the 3rd point. Though I usually don’t get many guests but am known for making simple meals πŸ™‚

    And I can not do without my comb, absolutely not πŸ™‚

  10. Completely agree with your list visha! Lemme try and add somemore here..
    Finding my fav book and sitting in the balcony to read it
    Simply having rice n dal
    A cup of coffee and a book in hand
    Fighting for the last food stuff in the plate when many ppl are eating from a single plate
    A bird coming into ur balcony and making sweet noise..

    Hey I think I hv written a post where I hv listed things that make me smile when I am sad.. Check it out here –
    http://lostinmylilworld.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/what-makes-me-smile-when-i-am-sad/

    • The last one about the bird – I like that the most. In my locality, I do get to hear the bird chirping in the mornings, but never I have come across one hopping into my home. I used to see them aplenty at my ma’s place though πŸ™‚

      Sure re, I will check your list

  11. Pingback: Old wine in new bottle (or something of that sort)…… « techie2mom

  12. Wonderful thoughts, Visha! Especially the dal-rice-sabzi one. I would much rather have a good stomach full of those than a large variety of fancy items in tiny helpings. πŸ™‚

  13. Lovely post. I am all for the simple things in life too. πŸ™‚

    I go with the simple dal-subzi-rice-roti when we are having guests over, too. Sometimes, if I have the time, I do try out other exotic dishes as well. Well, exotic for me.

    I love going to malls, and occasionally buy stuff from there. However, I love buying small hand-crafted products from tiny stores or from the footpath too.

    Ballpoint pens anyday over expensive, gel ones. And for me too, no boutiques and clothing from malls. I love the clothes that my tailor stitches for me. πŸ™‚

    I take pleasure in a lot of simple things in life, but somehow, nothing comes to mind now to add to your list. 😐

Would love to read your views :)

