The leopard ate my dinner

What is with these National Geographic/ Discovery channels?

Why do they have to broadcast leopards feasting on a deer at dinner time?

And why do the men in my home always seem interested in watching the ‘kill’ when eating their own food, thus ruining my dinner time?

Picture this:

Zack, MIL, FIL, Nephew and me are having dinner.

Me : “Please change the channel. Am unable to see this and eat at the same time”
Zack : “Come on Visha, just look at this. Imagine the speed of the leopard..and see how the deer is running away”
Me : ” Whats the need to imagine, the deer has to run to save its own life, right”
Nephew : “But see how fast both are running. Wow”
FIL : “I wonder why just one leopard is going after a herd of deers. If another one joins, they can catch at least 2”
MIL : “Ayyo, concentrate on your food. That animal will take care of itself ”
Zack : “There…did you see that Visha..he has pounced on the deer.”
Me : “For God’s sake, do not discuss Zack.”
Nephew : “Maama, that was awesome no”
Me : “Why are the three of you so interested in watching this?”

The guys did not pay any heed to my question, they were so intently watching the TV.

I have to nudge the nephew and Zack to get back to their plates.

Zack : “Visha, you were asking something?”
Me: “yeah..whats so interesting about this?”
Nephew : “About what”
Me : “About one prani killing other prani”

And the room was filled with a cloud burst of laughter

Sigh..Men I say 😐

34 thoughts on “The leopard ate my dinner

      • What’s gross in there?

        Both ( Leopard killing deer and you having your food) of them are mutual exclusive functions. Are not they?

        • Yes, they are mutually exclusive at their own sweet times..but hearing the screams and roars, blood flowing around and all that gore when I partake my food…no ways…I would rather wish they air such shows at some other time

  1. Oh I can’t watch such scenes while eating! But generally too I can’t watch killing,blood etc even if it is like fight scenes in movies…I hate watching someone kill and also I get scared…thinking how can someone ‘kill’ anyone!

  2. Frankly, I am used to it now. I know what you mean but sorry, I can no longer empathize with you. I have become too accustomed to it. I just can pray that you will too (maybe).

    But yes, I cannot watch horror before sleeping. And K is always pulling my leg, turning on something creepy and then hiding the remote etc. Really, I don’t understand what’s with all this.
    But, I know how to torture back. I just play one really jhakmak saas-bahu serial and hide the remote and defend the main switch. It works. πŸ˜›

    • Ouch..wished you had understood πŸ˜›

      If something is on the TV not according to his liking, he will promptly doze off Toffee πŸ™‚

  3. LOL, my sympathies with you πŸ˜‰
    On a more serious note, it’s better to watch a leopard eating deer than watch news while eating…Once in our office cafeteria, we were having lunch and the news channel were showing a guys being killed, i couldn’t complete my lunch…..

  4. Oh dear… that is really really tough!! I cant even imagine what I would do in your situation. Luckily, Nat Geo and Discovery are not available in our cable package.. How can one at peacefully when one prani is killing the other πŸ™„

    In my case, its those horror, scary movies.. I cant see them just before going to sleep. And these movie channels only telecast such movies in such times.. 😦 😦 same with action movies too.. if I am made to watch some super action movie (by S, of course) I will have such bad dreams that night.. These days I have learnt to sleep peacefully while he enjoys those fights πŸ˜€

  5. No mixing business with pleasure has been the rule in my family (both at my parents home as well as when I lived with my husband, though an altogether different story at my in-laws place) when it comes to food. Where business has always been food/eating πŸ˜‰

    OK I get your point at them being really insensitive, though personally all these things don’t affect me πŸ˜€

  6. Ha seriously.. These men… and the husband exclaimed on seeing his wife bleeding after the accident that he just can’t see blood in real πŸ™‚

  7. You sound exactly like my mother in this post – she loathes the bone crushing sounds that carnivores make and exclaims out loud(stopping short of a facepalm) why any sane person would schedule shows of this genre or toilet cleaning commercials around meal times.

    My retort to your conundrum would be – Just like we have our meal; the tiger/leopard/cheetah/panther is having its.

    • But no need to watch the animal killing and tearing its victim, when the latter is screaming in agony when you are having your food, right?

  8. Hee hee
    Same story here. πŸ™‚

    What’s with men and their choice of TV shows? My hubby insists on watching all the crime documentaries that are running on TV, and if any psychopath movie is running, he gets hooked immediately. He insists on watching such stuff right before going to bed at night. I just dunk my head into my book or whatever I am doing at the moment. Talking to him at these times is useless.

    • Its their psychology πŸ˜›

      Same pinch

      I just hope they don’t put ‘Saw’ in the movie channels anytime. Zack is waiting to see my reactions while watching the movie.

Would love to read your views :)

