Twice lovely

Celebration times!! I have been conferred the ‘One Lovely Blog’ and that too two times! Thank you so much Scribby and Ashreya’s Mom. This is my first award and I get to receive it twice! Can it get any cooler than this πŸ˜‰


According to the rules, I have to tell 7 random facts about myself. Since this blog is all about me and my better half, there is nothing new that you dont know πŸ˜‰

Now, since I got an award, I need to celebrate it.

kuch meetha ho jaye?

πŸ™‚

I had a can of milkmaid unused for 2 weeks and was looking for ways to use it. Also, when I closed the fridge after looking at the milkmaid ka dabba this Saturday, my eyes fell on the coconut sitting on the kitchen counter. Why not use both of them I thought. Due to prior experiences of disasters in mixing this and that, I wanted to be sure if you could use coconut scrapping’s with milkmaid. I was not disappointed as Google Baba showed me a way. Here’s in celebration of the award, how to make yummy coconut laddoos

This measurement makes 15 small sized laddoos.

Ingredients:

2 cups of shredded coconut ( 3/4th of a normal sized coconut)
1 cup of sweetened milkmaid
1/2 spoon of cardamom powder

Method:

(1) Either shred the coconut pieces using your mixie jar or use the scrapper to get 2 cups of shredded coconut. For me I got this quantity with 3/4 of a coconut
(2) Put on some music( optional, but recommended)
(3) Heat a non-stick or a thick bottomed pan and stir the coconut. Make sure the coconut does not burn
(4) Wait until all the water evaporates (this happens quickly) and it turns brown in color.
(5) Enjoy the rich aroma wafting around you.
(6) In one hand, pour the milkmaid on the coconut, with the other hand keep stirring the mixture.
(7) Keep stirring for about 10 minutes, it will get thick and the quantity will also reduce.
(8) Turn off the heat and add cardamom powder and mix well
(9) Let it rest for some 10 minutes, while it is warm enough, make small laddoos using the mixture.
(10) I made small discs too, actually you can mould it into any shape you want.

Enjoy πŸ™‚

P.S Before you think if I have turned into a chef ( ME are you listening? ) with last time’s sizzler and this sweet, please note that I burnt the day before yesterdays vegetable pulao and this mornings vermicelli upma looked so bad that Zack did not even taste it πŸ˜›

34 thoughts on “Twice lovely

  1. *drum rolls* many many congratulations. You deserve every bit of it. We do enjoy reading your blog. & For tht kuch meetha ho jaye part, I ll show the recepie to my mother n she is gonna make this for me. :p :p
    I am a lazy bum when it comes to cooking.

  2. Congratualations love πŸ™‚ .. u totally deserveeeeee it .. lmao at the chef bit … and the last para.. milkmaid :?(, i tried making cake, and it turned out to be one gooey lava cake of sorts πŸ˜€ … πŸ˜› ..

  3. congratulations and yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy on the award ..
    lai Meetha to ho jaye but I will have to make it .. although if one gets prepared one then AUR BHI MEETHA hoga πŸ™‚ he he he he

  4. Oh yay! Congies bigtime Visha πŸ™‚ Totally lovely you are. Once hooked, twice lovely πŸ˜›

    Visha you shared the recipe πŸ™‚ I will try this too. I did not know you used milkmaid when you told me last. Google baba ki jai!

    hehe – burnt pulao tastes yummy, the roasted part I will scrape off and not share with anyone (unless it got charred) πŸ˜›

    πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Toffee πŸ™‚

      Oh yeah, do try it out dear, you will enjoy it for sure.

      haha..no, it did not get charred, but no matter how much effort I put, I could not scrape the rice bits off πŸ˜›

  5. The coconut ladoos…..yummmmmmy….I must say that was a clever use of the coconut sittling idle on your kitchen bench πŸ˜€
    Ah! disasters happen all the time…it’s a proof that you’ve been experimenting in the kitchen like all masterchefs do πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Yummy treat for a sweet well deserved award….Congratulations sweetie πŸ˜€

    • I could not think of anything else, and I badly wanted to use the milkmaid πŸ˜€

      The disaster-success ratio is slightly skewed as of now, once in 4 days, I have a success, rest are pure-noteworthy disasters πŸ˜†

      Thanks ME πŸ™‚

    • hahaha…looks like you are forgetting my earlier disasters…dont worry, with time you will learn it…start with this sweet dish πŸ˜›

  6. me likes !! me likes!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I am going to make this only for myself (yes yes! I am selfish that ways)

    And where are the pics Visha??? I actually started drooling at the thought of those laddoos.. πŸ˜€

    hey come on.. you have become the master chef.. no matter what… remember.. any chef would have disasters now and then πŸ™‚

    • yay!! πŸ˜€

      Haha, only you? Thats bad πŸ˜›

      Oh no pics GB, camera is currently with the vacationing party πŸ˜‰

      Hearing this from you ( who cooks such a variety of dishes of which I can only dream of ) makes me happy πŸ™‚

  7. so do i get my share of ladoo for giving u the award.. :).. i didnt know coconut can be mixed with milkmaid.. now i have so many recipes to make in to-do list.. πŸ™‚

  8. Congrats!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I love your recipes because they are so simple πŸ™‚
    Loved points 2 and 5 in your recipes πŸ™‚ Shows how much you enjoy cooking πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Three cheers | Zack and Visha

Would love to read your views :)

