Affected

Something is seriously wrong with me these days. I was not at all like this. Even after marriage I was not like this. Recently, from the day I had to manage the home all by myself, I have been affected with it.

I have become a cleanliness freak.

That does not mean, I used to live in muck and mess earlier. When I was single, my room would be shabby, unless someone came visiting, the books would be lying haphazardly all over, the reading light would be dusty and the pillow would always be on the floor rather than the bed. When I moved in with Zack, I felt heartened to know I was in a better position than him, though only slightly.

Like the difference between chaos and ordered chaos πŸ˜‰

I was not too particular about how he dumped his clothes in the wardrobe or the way he messed up mine while taking ‘that white shirt’ from his pile. The iron box would always be sleeping on the bed the whole day, at nights it would be unceremoniously placed at the foot of the bed, because it did not have any dedicated place for itself. In the dresser there would be the stapler along with the comb and a pencil entangled with the hair-bands.

It was the same until a couple of weeks ago. A chance look at the kitchen window sill started on the onset of this clean-it-now syndrome. Then it spread to the whole eco-system of my place. Right from the garden to the loft. From the wardrobe to the puja-room. From the main-gate to the hinges of the windows. In the morning rush of fixing breakfast and packing lunch, I would not getting into this cleaning business. But come Saturday-Sunday and I would be all this-should-be-cleaned-today-mode. The back-breaking weekend routine got into Zack’s nerves, since I was keeping him constantly moving from one room to another along with whining how the chimney top got so much grime.

Yesterday, the vacationing party returned with the tiredness of a 20 day journey and stories to last at least a month. While the suitcases were opened to disperse the goodies, I was checking the ever-increasing perimeter of the unloaded clothes, food packets and stuff.After dinner was done, I was itching to clean up the area before I retired to bed. But I was told, to leave it like that.

Tell me now, there is seriously something wrong with me no πŸ˜₯

P.SΒ  You know you are grown up and a home-maker when you get souvenirsΒ like a handcrafted wooden belan and a marble agarbatti stand. Sigh! I am still wallowing in grief.

47 thoughts on “Affected

  1. he he.. wallowing in grief… so now you now you are much married with the belan πŸ™‚

    This is called self-relaization phase. when you suddenly strat noticing grime in every little corner of the house. Don’t worry this shall too pass πŸ™‚

  2. There is nothing wrong with you sweetie. To quote Monica, when Chandler asks her “What about your obsessive cleanliness?!”- That’s just good sense! πŸ™‚
    I have a keeda of keeping things back in the place where it was taken from. The good thing about this is, even if I’m not around the house, I can tell them over the phone where exactly a particular thing is, if they’re not able to find it. The bad thing about this is, I can be a pain in the ass. Another keeda is to fold the newspaper neatly along its exact folds after reading it. I hate it when people read the newspaper and don’t bother to fold it back, making it a bundle. I hate it being spread around also.
    And don’t even get me started on the ‘wet-towel-on-the-bed/sofa/any place that absorbs moisture’ syndrome that some people suffer from. Blech.

  3. Oh u’ve been affected by the grown up syndrome which is going to haunt ur hubby n future children n they would keep whining. take care of urself. 😦
    n. u got handcrafted belan n agarbatti stand.. πŸ˜› hahah yet another indication of having affected by THE syndrome
    My sympathies.. πŸ˜€
    n get ready for the stories.. Personally i don’t like to listen such stories. Every small thing will now be a reminiscent of the vacation trip.

  4. The cleanliness bug can bite anybody! I better take a vaccination for it so that I am immune to it πŸ˜‰

    Handcrafted wooden belan??? err…no comments πŸ™‚

  5. My mother has OCD – Obsessive Cleaning Disorder, she sometimes loses sleep over dirt hiding in the tile corners or shelf edges and you Γ€re beginning to sound just like her.

    I on the other hand am comfortable with an organized mess where I can circumnavigate my way around what I want.

    I think this post qualifies under the category – That wierd moment when you suddenly realize you are all grown up and married πŸ˜›

    Cheers πŸ™‚

    • You sound exactly like my brother – his room would be a mess, but in that mess he knows where his particular stuff is.

      It still hasnt sunk in..that feeling..the circumstances and such kind of gifts are giving such tube-light moments

  6. So.. Visha.. you are bit by the cleanliness bug and its turning out to be good for the house and your family except Zack.. ha ha ha πŸ˜€

    How I wish I have some similar thoughts as you now… the house needs cleanup after weekend travel and I am sitting here, relaxing! I will never be a cleanliness freak I guess 😦 I am accepting the way things are and its disappointing..

    and what did you say were your gifts… handcrafted belan?!?!? 😯

    • He was at his wits ends that what has struck me – and that too on weekends, when we just used to relax πŸ˜€

      Am unable to catch you online..too much work? I hope your journey was good.

      That belan was one of the things that stood apart because of the ingenuity..I did get fancy stuff too πŸ˜‰

    • πŸ˜†

      Having read your account, I can say that I am yet to reach that state, but seeing my fanatical approach to cleanliness, that day may not be too far 😐

      Ditto ME, ditto. When I asked why did they get me this belan, they told, you once told that you are finding the existing one too heavy, so we got this one for you πŸ˜€

    • yes, hand-crafted chappatis with hand-crafted belan πŸ˜‰

      maybe they remembered me looking out for a nice belan in the market soon after marriage πŸ˜€

  7. OMG you are on the verge of becoming like my mom.. She just cant relax on weekends and keeps cleaning the house and I get endless sermons on how my room is “soooo dirty” while I can find my things perfectly in the mess.. I remember that she once cleaned my room and I couldn’t find my notes for 2 whole days πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. Loved the PS. I remember how shocked I felt when after marriage, all that people could think of gifting me were sarees and bedsheets. 😦

    Now, coming to your post – you are becoming a home-maker, in the proper sense of the word. πŸ™‚ Of late, I have been itching to clean up my home too, but am too lazy (OK, a bit busy with other things too) to get up and actually do it.

    • Hai na? When I had gone to my parents place for my first Diwali, she too gave me bedsheets..and I was like..”mummy, you too?” πŸ˜€

      Oh I dont want to TGND, I am missing my old nonchalant days.

  9. lol @ ordered chaos πŸ˜› and signs of being married πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Now come to think of it I’m like hard core cleanliness freak…imagine my family’s life πŸ˜›

    • πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      That married feeling had not sunk in until I had been bitten by this bug…oh, how I wish I be back to my old-self

      hahaha…I can very well visualise your ghar ki kahaani πŸ˜†

  10. oooooooooooooooooh πŸ™‚

    Don’t worry. I may not be a freak but I can be a pain at times πŸ˜› However, at times, when I am tired, I am happy with “ordered”chaos (that’s the perfect way you put it). When in Uni, I could just pick out what I wanted under the pile of books but well, revel in the fact that Cleanliess is Godliness. I am ignoring the back-breaking part πŸ˜›

    Handcrafted belan and marble agarbatti stand – wow! I’d have been really happy to get them πŸ™‚ I am a souvenir freak. and don’t mind anything hand crafted or reminiscent of the place, esp. books πŸ™‚ when coupled with food, ofcourse πŸ™‚

    • Ordered chaos is what I used to live in, am missing it so much.

      Ditto, am a souvenir freak too. But then I think it also depends on who is getting the souvenirs πŸ˜‰

  11. πŸ˜†
    you have my sympathies!! We still don’t have a place for the Iron box! its placed on the floor near a plug point in our room!! πŸ˜€

    I feel like cleaning when I’m sick or when I physically can’t clean and then I eat K’s head to clean!! 😐 sigh!!

    And the belan and the agarbatti stand sound cute!! pics pls?! πŸ˜€

    • haha…really, the iron box is one poor thing, always overlooked πŸ˜›

      cleaning when sick 😯 Why Pixie?

      πŸ˜€ pics..I never thought of that…should click them na..

  12. OMG! You are turning into Monica! πŸ™‚
    Well, my mom has it too. Even if she is running a fever and the maid has not turned up, she will try to clean up the whole house. I keep telling her that it is OK if the house is not cleaned for a day but it all falls on deaf ears.

    • Oh I dont wish that for you Pepper, it will make you every crease and dust speck look villainous 😐

      If you are willing to fall to prey, let the bug bite you πŸ˜€

      I love to see you here Pepper πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Boring week | Zack and Visha

  14. LOL Visha….I get this kind of cleanliness attacks when my MIL is visiting me πŸ˜‰
    But otherwise, i am pretty much like your old self. Though now and then i try to do a thing here and a thing there…
    May you remain affected by this new bug forever πŸ˜‰

  15. Hahahahaha..:D
    I so love your blog….
    Cleaning disorder is such a pain… To u too nd m sure to ur hubby nd future kids also… A clean-it-all mom is so difficult to handle… Wish you get back to your own-self soon…;) πŸ˜›
    And a handcrafted belan..What exactly are you going to do with it??? Making designer rotis or displaying it as a show-piece in your drawing room??? πŸ˜€

    • I am almost back to my older self πŸ˜› But some times, only some times, I tend to *slip* back πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

      The handcrafted belan helps me to make thinner and slimmer phulkas..the older belan was a bit thick and heavy πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

