A hint of light, a smatter of chill and a dash of rain

I have always felt that the journey to your destination is as interesting as the destination itself. Of the many number of times we used to make the annual trip to my hometown, the 2 day train journey was what I looked forward to. We used to cover almost 4 states, so we got a good view of lush green paddy fields, hills, windmills, dams, rivers, towns, villages, etc. Sometimes the land would be barren for long, that had a beauty of its own.I missed having such trips these days. The last time I had such a train journey was 2 years ago. A flight journey can save you time, but it robs you of the experience of getting down for tea at certain junctions, of the smells, sights and sounds.

Many of you know how I was cribbing that I need a vacation.

At last, I had a 2 day vacation last weekend. A trip to Madikeri aka Mercara in Coorg. It is also known as the Scotland of India.

More than the hill station, I loved the roads which led to it. Open fields, rows and rows of greenery, interspersed with rain drops and sunlight. In one bend of the hill, we get to see mist, the other has sunlight streaming in, the next one has rain splattering our bus windows. The clouds play hide and seek with the capacity of a 2-year-old. Now here, the next minute over there. Some dense, some huge. It was as if we are moving through the clouds.
I have never visited any hill station during monsoon, so all this was new for me. You cannot survive without a jacket and an umbrella in this season, no matter even if you have to be out for only 5 minutes.

This is how the view was from our room at 1 in the noon.

The main city square has nothing different to offer apart from various spices. There are 3 main tourist attractions in Madikeri city. There were a couple of recommendations from our hotel manager, but the distance was more than 100km and we decided against visiting them.

The first place we went was to Omkareshwara temple. It was a Shiva temple where in an engagement was going on. All the beautiful ladies dressed up in traditional Coorgi style sarees made a nice picture. I was left gawking at a few 😛 I found the temple to be built-in Kerala style, but one thing which stood out was this:

Our next stop was Abbey falls, about which Zack was too excited to see. He had seen it 7 years ago and had turned as a tourist guide about the history and geography the waterfall. The land around the waterfall is privately owned and you have to pay a token fees of 10 rupees to enter. I was wondering how much money you need to have to own your own natural waterfall 😛

We could hear the sound of gushing water some 500m away. Monsoon had had its effects on the water, the sheer force and magnitude of water was so much that you could feel the water sprinkled on your face from the fence erected there.

Suddenly the clouds parted and the waterfall was bathed in sunlight.

This happened every 5 minutes and it was a treat to watch.

The last place which we visited was the Raja Seat. I actually insisted on seeing it twice. Why?

On the first day it looked like this:

I was awed, literally you have a feeling that you are on the top of the world. Wanting to experience it once more, we went again the next day.
The scene and weather had changed drastically!

On this bench, we stared faraway into the horizon, just soaking in the rain, light and chill.

Zack

I found this plant just when we were leaving a garden. The number of flowers was more than the total number of leaves put together.

Whats the name of this flower?

Coorg is already popular during summers, but if you want to experience all kinds of weather in a day, monsoon will not disappoint you.

I wish we own a house like that 🙂

I love this place

58 thoughts on “A hint of light, a smatter of chill and a dash of rain

  1. Lovely pics and travelogue! 🙂 We have visited Coorg twice, both times during the summer, and loved the experience. I am sure it would be so much more beautiful in the rains! 🙂

    I love sitting on those benches near Raja Seat too and gazing out ahead. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂

      We are already planning for a summer trip to Coorg, it is so lovely!

      Raja Seat…God bless the soul who designed the space 🙂

  2. Gorgeous! Coorg is definitely up there on my Must-Visit list of places. I love cold weather. Apparently, there is a Tibetan settlement near Coorg, called Kushal Nagar. Did you guys go there?

    I want to go to Coorg!!! Now! 😦

    • Hey Spiff 🙂

      If you love cold weather, you should be here after the summers.

      No, we did not stop at Kushal Nagar, just had a peek from the bus. When we were at Coorg, we saw monks from there who had come for relaxing.

      Mid August there are 3 days off. Make a trip 🙂

  3. wow wow wow Visha!! Lovely pictures re 🙂 I too want a house like that !!!!!! *making faces like sitting on the floor and throwing tantrums* 😛

    Zack is smart 😉 Where is your back? 😛

    So the riddle winner is me or no? I kind of explained it correctly of the place that were at,right?

    • You bet Scribby!! Both of us were just ogling at that house..so pretty it was..sitting amidst the greenery.. 😀

      hein? Zack kaise smart?? 🙄

      hehehehhe..he did not take a good pic of my back 😛

      most of who commented got it correct re 😉

  4. If you like going to Hill stations in the monsoon – you should definitely go to one in the winter – you’ll have an absolute ball.

    A mere thought of train journeys and the mountains and gives me a high – there is just something magically refreshing and energetic about them.

    Looks like you had a good vacation.

    Cheers 🙂

    • This was my first time at a hill station in monsoon, totally loved it. Winter’s…now this I have not tried 🙂

      Train journeys have that kind of effect 🙂

  5. That waterfall is sooo.. beautiful. I could sit beside it for hours 🙂
    Nice trip 🙂 and lovely pics. I am longing for a short monsoon getaway too, but doesn’t look like it is going to happen 😦

  6. Waah, Waah, so you finally had a vacation 🙂
    Watching falls in monsoon, when they are in full force is so much fun!!!
    That Raja seat is really awesome!!!
    You had so much of fun, keep having such fun, Visha 🙂

    • oh yeah ZM…after cribbing and whining to one and all about the lack of time for a getaway, I finally landed a short trip 😀

      Thanks 🙂

  7. Sigh!!! What a lovely set of pics, you are making me wish to go for a break.

    And I so agree with you on the Monsoon & train thing. Couple of years back we had gone to Goa during monsoons, luckily we opted for train journey and what a beauty the travelling was. Not only that, even Goa looked different and little tamed during monsoons. Lovely it was.

    • Mid-August 3 day holiday…plan a short trip 😉

      Train journeys are beautiful and enriching…Goa must be bathed with droplets during monsoon. Have never been there. Should plan for it 🙂

  8. Loved the tale visha 🙂 loved the pictures even more 🙂 know know whee the riddle came from :p
    The Tibetian settlement should be good too. I have been to one in bylukuppa 🙂
    I have not seen Coorg yet 😦 not properly. I want to go too 🙂

    • glad you liked Toffee 🙂

      haha..yeah..the riddle had its source from this place 😉

      Plan a trip, two days and a night..its just 3 hours from Mysore 🙂

  9. I’ve never heard of Coorg before. Thanks to the travelogue. Now this on my must-visit list.
    I really like the pictures of Abbey falls.. n the way u described “u could feel the water sprinkled on ur face” actualy made me picture all this.

    • Oh it is a must visit Sugar, cant comment about the summer here, but monsoons in Coorg are awesome.

      We were having difficulty clicking the pictures, the water would lodge in the camera lens 😛

  10. Wow! awesome pictures….I am feeling refreshed just looking at those pics, I can imagine how wonderful you guys must have felt 😀
    As far the plant in third last picture, it is Musanda, it comes in pink, yellow and white shades. We have it at our home too 😀

    • Am glad reading your comment ME…that these pics refreshed you 🙂

      What?? You have this flower at your home…wow!!!Which shade do you have?
      Pari would love to see so many flowers at one plant itself no 🙂

      Hmm..musanda it is..nice flower!

  11. Visha…. a lovely lovely absolutely lovely post!!! You made me wonder when will I get to go to this place AGAIN 🙂 🙂 We visited this in monsoon too and loved it so much! You made me go back to those beautiful newly-wedded days 😀

    • GB!!!!! Thank you so much 🙂 🙂

      Haha…plan a trip soon….make use of the office holidays 2 weeks later 😉

      Would love to hear your account too *hint* *hint* 😀

  12. Coorg is a beautiful place na?! 🙂
    We used to go there frequently.. its lovely!
    I miss the rains! sigh! 🙂
    Glad to know you guys had a great great time!

  13. Vacations! Sigh! I am dying to be on one.
    Its sad that I lived in the South for two years are was never able to visit Coorg. Looks like a lush place.

    • I was in the same position since 18 months..dying to go on a vacation 😛

      Wish you have a getaway real soon 🙂

      Coorg is definitely lush during monsoon, I have heard it is so, during summers too.

  14. My home town looks exactly like this on a rany day, well not that from where you are 🙂 Your post is making me miss all those. Same pictures on different days looks so different. Loved all the pictures..

Would love to read your views :)

