To be happy or sad

In office, when a new girl joined the office and she came to know I am married:

She: You are married?

Me:Ā  Yes

She: You do not look like one, I thought you are a fresher just like me.

*

* *

* * *

In a park where I took my 4-year-old niece to play. Niece finds her classmate and runs to her. Both the girls are playing. The other girl’s mom comes to me:

Lady: Your baby looks so pretty.

Me: Err, I am her aunt.

Lady : Oh, I thought you are her mom.

Do I be happy knowing that I look like a just finished college graduate or do I feel sad that I already look like a mummy?

53 thoughts on “To be happy or sad

  1. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder! Ignore the second and be happy with the college graduate compliment Visha šŸ˜€

    People always look at me up and down if I walk next to my mom. Though we were never asked if we were sisters and all that, but mom never lets me walk next to her which irks me a lot. Mom has a very small body frame and I am large now šŸ˜€ All I do is ignore and do what I love to do.. walk alongside mom šŸ˜€

  2. he he he.. dont bother.. u always look best the way u are.. there is nothing changing na.. if they think u r un0married, it doesnt mean u r going to leave ur hubby, if they think u r having a baby, it shouldnt bother u..

  3. šŸ˜† @ being called a fresher šŸ˜† I mean if single people are fresher than stale married šŸ˜‰
    In the second case, the mommy guessed you to be a mom only cause you went along with a baby, so you can cheerfully enjoy the first compliment and forget the second šŸ˜€

    • Fresher is the term we give to college graduates who are ‘fresh’ in the job market, nothing to do with being single and married, you cracked me up totally ME, you are too cute šŸ˜†

      Yeah, after pondering over it day and night I came to the same conclusion šŸ˜‰

  4. Why is the second one not to be taken as a compliment? Do moms of babies look so bad? I feel that women look very graceful and beautiful as they mature and take on more roles in life. So take the second and feel very happy about it!

  5. hey young people have babies too šŸ˜€ so she might not have meant that you looked old. so look at it that way and be happy for both incidents šŸ˜‰

    p.s: one of my classmates father met my mom in some store after years and mistook her to be me. i think i blogged about it way back when. sigh. šŸ˜›

    • Right T, but since I was on a high receiving the ‘fresher’ compliment, I was like – do I look like a mom now šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Mistook your mom to be you šŸ˜Æ

      *runs off to find the blogpost which T has written*

  6. hehe … šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€
    The first one obviously made you happy šŸ™‚
    As for the second one…. mommies come in a wide age group ….so I guess it is nothing to do with age. She just asked because she saw you with a child šŸ™‚ No need to be sad about it šŸ™‚

  7. You should be happy the way you are , your first compliment that you look like a fresher says you look young, the second compliment that you look like mom means you have the maturity of a mom, well to me both are compliments šŸ™‚

  8. The first compliment works for a while. Imagine that you become a manager and someone gives you such a compliment. I don’t know about girls, but the first thing I will do is to grow a French beard. šŸ™‚

  9. Hehe visha , I would take both as compliments šŸ™‚ in different ways. I know you interpreted that to mean age but well, I would give anything to be as beautiful as my mom šŸ™‚
    Oh and that fresher compliment induces so much happiness coz I directly translate fresher to be fresh and energetic. Not that expienced people are boring but freshers have a charm of their own šŸ˜‰ though I have colleagues who hate being mis-recognized as freshers :p

  10. I want to look a bit more matured than what I am. I want to age, for the Grace- may be like Madhuri Dixit. Forget the first one and remember the second comment šŸ˜€ My suggestion šŸ˜€

  11. Well, I keep hearing this all the time. Most people tell me I don’t look married. Some people even ask me which school I am in. Yes, school. Not even college. And then once, many many years ago. Somebody asked me if my then 13 yr old sister was my daughter. šŸ˜ To cover up, she said, mothers are so young these days, you can’t tell. I never forgave her.

    • comes from experience huh šŸ˜‰

      Tonight you will be watching English Vinglish I guess. Its getting almost perfect reviews everywhere. Do let us know how it was for you šŸ™‚

  12. If you have to choose between the 2, be happy i would say šŸ™‚
    And i am sure you chose to be happy šŸ™‚
    Why? Because you really look young that is why the fresher thought you are not yet married. Also because you took really good care of your niece which made the lady think that you are her mom šŸ™‚
    See, you are perfect šŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

