On the mind now

If you are one of the souls who think 2012 is moving too fast for your comfort, please join me.  The first half of this year was a blur, the second half is going on a breakneck speed. Particularly the last couple of months. I am one of the nut cases who feels happy seeing Monday’s. Aha, 5 days to this week. Come Wednesday, I already get the weekend feeling. I do not know why. Before I begin to crack this mystery, Friday night says hello to me. And the weekend whizzes by. Again full circle – Hello Monday.

****

September was a very trying month for the family. The start of the month saw one of Zack’s uncle fighting for his life after a massive heart attack. The guys in the family used to make 350km round trips thrice in a week just to provide emotional support, while the ladies used to be huddled up in a corner of the hospital praying to various deities and gods. We eventually lost him after 8 days. Leaves in the office became difficult for us to attend the rituals after the funeral.

What I found difficult to understand, was the lack of planning on the part of the uncle who was admitted. He had not taken a single medical policy, not even a basic LIC. Nothing in the bank to be labelled as savings. All the money he and his wife earned were in the form of assets, either in the form of properties bought or jewellery. Agreed, that the jewellery could be pawned off in dire situations like this, but it makes some sense to have some hard cash in the bank in case of medical situations, when time is short. The jewellery was kept in a bank locker, which was shut for the weekend. Timely help from a financier friend saved the day. There have been endless discussions between the two of us in this regard – me citing this example to stress the importance of savings against a what-I-earn-I-should-invest-it-off-instead-of-letting-the-money-sit-in-the-bank partner 🙄

****

While September ended on a sad note, October had a big event coming up – a happy one. The naming ceremony of a 8 month old baby. Nothing infuses energy and enthusiasm like a function in the family. The death was not forgotten, instead, how the event would have turned out if that uncle was here was discussed. Equal parts of sadness and joy. Thankfully, as the event dawned, the scale was much, much higher on the latter part. Three weeks flew into the preparations, so much so, that one of us joked if it is a wedding or a naming ceremony.

****

In the midst of all these, I had some medical issues which had me stressed out like hell. No amount of reading, cooking or watching idiotic TV soaps calmed my frayed nerves. I bugged the BFF till no end, day after day. God bless her to tolerate an eccentric nutcase like me. I heaved a sigh of relief only after seeing the reports post a doctor visit. On medication now, hope every thing gets sorted out.

****

This weekend we started the Diwali shopping. Whoever said it is easy to shop for guys must have one trip to the apparel store with Zack. He wears only one brand and we have got all the shades and patterns already. After much scrutinization, thankfully we zeroed in on two formal sets and one casual. Festival times brings out the best in shopping areas of the city. But it also adds parking woes, which is on the exponential growth for every festival next in line.

We ended the weekend by spring cleaning the home, almost robbed our wardrobe of clothes. There are too many old clothes which we are never going to wear, so it was decided that the whole bundle will be distributed amongst the maid’s children’s in our locality. This Thursday we are having a holiday in the office.

It’s technically Monday as I publish this. Another week.

Hello Monday 🙂

P.S In case you have missed, please hop to effervescent Toffee’s to read my write-up. I can’t thank her enough for allowing me to hijack her space :mrgreen:

28 thoughts on “On the mind now

  1. Please take care & get well soon 🙂
    I am sorry about Zack’s Uncle’s tragic demise. I can so understand how difficult it must have been for the family given the distances and then issues with finances.
    Glad to know you have started shopping for Diwali. Enjoy the vacation on Thursday and have a great week 😀

    • 😯 what time you go to sleep ME? I thought I am the only owl to be awake when I published this :mrgreen:

      I love the way you read between the lines 😉

      Diwali shopping I started early to avoid the mad rush later. Thank you so much for the wishes ME 🙂

      • Confession time: You are indeed the only owl around *ahem* for I actually sleep around the time when even the owls are lost in their dreams 😉 😆
        OK I many times sleep around 1:30 A.M. *gulp* and still wake up at 6 or 5:30 *another gulp* shhh don’t tell my mum 😉

  2. Oh 2012….trust me this is one year that was going at the speed of a Snail for me. err…I got pregnant at the very beginning of the year and was trying to push the days off till my due date and now that the little devils are here…I can’t wait for them to get up and run around…sigh!

    Take care of your health 🙂

  3. I can’t tell you how happy I am to see you post. I missed reading you like crazy! Things have been bust at my end as well but I did check in now and then only to see you are not here! 😦
    I will catch you online today. Lots to catch up.
    Please take care Visha. 🙂

  4. So much happening…. Hey Visha, but take care of your health. That is most important. Wishing and praying that it gets sorted out soon.
    I am with you on keeping some easy to access money in case of emergencies… saves a lot of trouble 🙂

  5. Life is such a bitter sweet mix of deaths and births. It is so strange to cater to such extremes in a single month.
    Yes, I am with you. The year is running very fast. Its November already!

  6. Indeed hello Monday… but this monday is good for me 🙂

    Well you certainly had a busy month. Hope the health issues are sorting out. Sad to hear about the uncle but I agree that hard cash is as much important as the investment in assets and properties.

  7. yes dear, so soon the year is coming to end.. and yup hello monday.. t
    take care of ur health, shopping for guys is tiresome i say.. hmmm year is again mix of happiness and sorrow na.. :(.. i dont know why ppl are still not thinking much on health insurances.. ??

    • It bugged most of us standing there in the hospital..how can one be so lax in terms of the future and safety of their family?

      Thanks for your wishes A 🙂

  8. Did anyone tell you that You were missed 🙂
    On a different note – Monday for some reason feels much better than what it is generally! Yash Chopra’s death made me spend the first half of last week pondering about life, death and the uncertainties in general. But the much awaited anniversary trip was a big solace. 🙂
    Get well soon and set out on your writing spree 🙂

    • You are a sweetheart Sia…I could not catch up with you after that day 😦

      I totally forgot about the anniversary dear 😦 I was too preoccupied..sorry

      Hope to talk to you soon 🙂

  9. Sorry for the loss of Zacks Uncle.. Oh Yes u bet 2012 is just running.. I just wrote a post on how the clock is ticking… U love Mondays.. dats kinda wierd I hate mondays 😦

    Agree with u these Men n their shopping trends.. oh my whole weekend went by in shopping for Appi’s clothes n the credit card bills hv shot up!!

    Happy Diwali preparations!!

    • Hehehe…same here..my credit card is groaning right now 😆

      This year is almost like a blink-and-you-miss kinda year. Where did the summer go..and the rains..they were non-existent..sigh…

  10. I read your write-up on Toffee’s space, and loved it. 🙂

    Hope you are better now, health-wise. Take care.

    I am with you in feeling that 2012 whizzed by too fast to realise what was happening.
    I agree with you that one should have a proper balance of liquid cash and assets in his/her investment kitty. There is no guarantee as to what life will throw at us at any given point in time.

    I have been perplexed by some financial issues that have arisen after the passing away of some people among our family members and relatives. I was thinking of doing a post on the same… Sometime!

    Sorry to know about the uncle’s demise.

  11. Sigh! this year has indeed flown by!!!

    And sad to hear about ur uncle…these stories of no med policy…I have heard so many times….when will we learn!

    Hope u r better now and the enjoying the shopping 🙂

Would love to read your views :)

