Jolly January

Dear Hubby,
 
That was some party I enjoyed. I had never been to a New Year’s eve before, so did not know how this would turn out. I loved the little kid’s dance the most. All of 3 years and ready to dance in a beat. I stifled my laughter a lot when you finished your chicken fry in less than 5 minutes and then came up with another serving fighting the deluge at the food counter. Looks like the organisers won over the people in the food area. Music was good too. I never knew you dance so unabashedly. 
 
Three days later your cousin S bought a new car home. Taking full advantage of the fact that his wife was at her parent’s for the delivery of his second child and he won’t get this kind of time at hand once he will have a new born and a kid to juggle, he appointed me as the vacation-designer. Almost all the visit worthy spots in and around the city were covered. Just to remind you, the first place were we went in the car was Lumbini Gardens – how beautiful it was 🙂
 
Pongal celebration turned out well. I so wanted to wear a saree, but the running around and cooking left me so tired that I could not have the energy to drape a silk saree. I did see you and S hiding the plate of vadas in the microwave. What did you think? I won’t be able to control before the puja was over? hmpf. 
 
I know you completely hate waking up early in the morning. But thanks for waking up at 4 in that cold and accompanying me to pick up papa. He never expected his daughter and son-in-law at the station, the look of surprise on his face was priceless. Also, I never expected you to shift to the other room while we came back home. Papa thinks you wanted to give him the bigger room and some privacy. While I know you wanted to finish of your sleep and so hit whatever bed you saw after entering home. 
 
The drive to Nandi hills was oh-so-beautiful. And so was the sunset. We got the glimpse of the setting sun just 10 seconds before. Huffing and puffing we were running up to the sunset point with a 4 year old. But the view was worthy of it. Majestic.
 
And then we got the best news of the year as well as the month. S got blessed with a baby boy. I remember you could not even type an sms properly to me – you were so happy. Everyone in the family had rushed to see the baby and we were left here, working, not getting leaves.
 
So all in all January was a pretty good month. New car and new baby in the family, papa visited me and we celebrated a festival nicely. All our attempts of finding a new sofa set proved futile. If you and I liked the design, MIL did not. Guess it was not the time for a sofa to enter our home and our patience paid off many months down the line.
 
Love,
Wife
15 thoughts on “Jolly January

  1. Ah!!! Actually your month sounds interesting 🙂

    You know we always say that your year would be a reflection of the first day of the year, so was it applicable to you?? 😀

  2. Wow!!
    loved the concept and your way of writing..
    I’m pretty new to the blogging world and am always in search of topics to write..
    Loved it how you took such a beautiful concept from your daily life and most of us who don’t even know about half the things mentioned in the post are also living it to the core..

  3. Pingback: The manila folder | Zack and Visha

Would love to read your views :)

