Friday cake and weekend music

While browsing through the internet a lazy Sunday afternoon, I came across a blogger who had cut down sugar completely from their lifestyle. Neither white sugar, nor brown. That morning, while rummaging the kitchen shelf for a something raw to be transformed into something edible, I got hold of a big container of maida. Zack loves his maida dosa more than his fish fry, so we always stock it up. That is another matter that he never knew that the dabba would be empty by the evening. If he knew, he would have dissuaded me from wasting my time in making this sugarless cake. Who in the world would eat or ask for a cake without sugar πŸ˜›

But then I had made up my mind to empty that maida dabba and make use of the over ripe bananas lying on the dining table. I planned to use all things natural.

Now this is how it looked it, when it came out of the oven. Please don’t close this page, kindly excuse my poor photography skills. It would be blasphemy to call this a cake to be very honest. But since the only ingredient missing here is sugar, I will take that leeway :mrgreen:

So how did I make it?

Ingredients :

Maida – 1.5 cups

Curd Β – 1 cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Baking soda – 1/2 tsp

Baking powder – 1 and 1/4 tsp

Cooking oil – 1/2 cup

2 small bananas

5 dates

Honey – 1 tbsp

chopped dry fruits ( optional)

DSC02456

Method:

Mash the bananas using a fork to a very fine paste. Soak the dates in warm water for about 5 min and smash them by hands, to a very syrupy consistency.

In a wide bowl, mix the curd, bananas and date-syrup and beat using a hand mixer for about 3 minutes. Do not be tempted to taste it, you might finish it off.

Add the baking soda and baking powder and mix well. You should see bubbles appearing. Keep it aside for 5 minutes. While you have 5 minutes at hand, dust away your oven and pre-heat to 200 degrees for 10 minutes. Preheating after your final batter is ready and waiting for the oven timer to go from 10:00 to 0:00 will make your cake go stiff.

After 5 minutes of letting the baking soda and baking powder introduce themselves, pour in the oil and vanilla essence. Β Give it a good mix.

Add in the maida gradually and keep mixing the wet and dry ingredients now. It tends to get stickier but after a good two minutes, you can see the oil leaving the mixture. Do not think why is this happening, just keep on mixing it. Pour honey into this mix, give it the final mix and now your batter is ready to be baked.

Line up your bakeware with butter paper or grease it and pour this batter into it.

Bake for 10 minutes at 200 degrees.

After 10 minutes, take your bakeware out and sprinkle chopped cashews and raisins. I wanted to add almonds too, but it was empty when I opened its dabba.

Put the batter inside the oven and bake at 180 degrees for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, take out your bakeware and check by inserting a fork or a knife. If it does not come out clean, bake for an additional 10 minutes.

Notes:

Now this cake will not rise so don’t curse yourself that why you wasted an hour of your life :mrgreen:

Let it cool down a bit, cut a small part of it and taste it. Found it to be too ‘non-sugary’? Worry not!! Cut out your cake into neat slices and make a clean spread of honey on top of it and serve it to yourself or any willing-to-eat souls.

Reaction in the family :

First bite

“This is cake aa??”

“But it does not taste like cake at all”

“Arre, you forgot to put sugar”

After 30 minutes

“Where is that cake Visha, give me another piece”

“There is a subtle hint of sweetness, it’s not bland at all. It tastes so good Visha”

After 35 minutes

All is left is one slice of the cake, which I think I will have on Monday, after returning from work. Alas, that was nowhere to be found πŸ˜₯

So my dear readers, the final conclusion of this great experiment is that you can have sugar less cakes πŸ™‚ I have named it the No egg-no butter-banana-dates-honey cake. Suggestions are most welcome.

**************

Want to make your Friday/Saturday/Sunday evening exciting?

Gather your friends or your family or your partner or if no one is there, just make your phone silent for 2 minutes and play this awesome, awesome song and dance away to glory. If I speak for myself, I found it difficult not to get swayed by this musical piece, do let me know your views πŸ˜‰

Β 

28 thoughts on “Friday cake and weekend music

  1. Indeed, you can have sugarless cake and enjoy, I have chucked out white sugar and doggedly insist for brown. Plus, I only have sugar with coffee. I have to admit I have a sweet tooth and need to cut on biscuits and mithais::(
    Vishal

  2. Yet another sugarless, eggless recipe. Bookmarking it for my next baking experiment πŸ™‚ do have any alternative for honey ? Me n TBH ain’t big fans of it.

    • I was thinking of implementing your golden cake, but didnt have jaggery at hand that time πŸ™‚

      You could use raisin syrup instead of honey. Just soak a fistful of raisins in cold water, they will plump up and then you can mash them by hand or use your mortar πŸ™‚ I have a feeling the cake will turn out sweeter, just let me know if you try πŸ˜‰

  3. That cake looks awesome! I am going to give it a try soon, but I am a bit scared. I have not had much success at baking cakes that contain both baking soda and baking powder. Anyways…

    Loved your family’s reactions to the cake! πŸ™‚

    I am always in awe of people who have given up white sugar completely. It must take SO MUCH of willpower! I don’t think I can do that – at least not for a long period of time. I love my white drug. πŸ™‚

    The music is interesting. I didn’t understand one bit of it, but it sure is enchanting. I found myself swaying to it, too. πŸ™‚

    • What I found is the longer you make the batter wait, the less airy and soft it comes out. Time your preheating of the oven in a way that the moment your batter is ready, you are ready to bake it πŸ™‚

      I am off white sugar since a month or so. Hence this idea of baking something sweet as well as not using white sugar. The initial days I used replacements like dates, honey and jaggery. Now I am used to the taste of things without sweetness. To my surprise, the juice centre guys are giving the option of no ice, no sugar juice, so I guess more people are going the no-sugar way πŸ™‚

      Same here πŸ˜† I didnt get a single word, but the music is so ‘swaysome’ πŸ˜‰

  4. Wow! an interesting recipe & I loved to note your family’s reaction to this delightful beauty.

    BTW why on earth would you beat the mixture BEFORE pre-heating the oven? Always pre-heat the oven before beginning to mix to be able to push the cake tin in the oven as soon as you have mixed all ingredients, w/o delay.

    It is cause all the CO2 liberated by Baking powder +baking soda is lost if delayed leading to a stiff cake.

    Ok confession time, I didn’t understand any bit of the music πŸ˜₯ but it is naice πŸ˜‰

    • Dear Teacherji,

      Nobody ever told me that about preheating πŸ™„ I found that by myself πŸ™‚ So shared it here in case someone is a first time baker πŸ™‚

      Gee, even I didnt get one word of the song. But we are listening only to the music, not the song πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  5. Wow!! So this is THE cake!!! Sounds yumm and healthy (gauging by your family’s swiftness in polishing it off πŸ˜‰ )
    So i am sure you will be making it again and will be sharing new pics :mrgreen:

  6. Sounds sooooooooooooooo good Visha! Anything with banana and am up for it πŸ™‚

    I have gone off white sugar for brief periods in life too (just to test my will power) but I always coem back like a true lover πŸ˜›

    So it is decided. This is the cake you will bring when you come to Singapore, okay? πŸ™‚

    • you must be loving banana breads in that case πŸ™‚

      hahaha, true love always wins πŸ˜›

      oh my honeypie, why would I give you hours old cake when I can give you a slice of a fresh from the oven cake πŸ™‚

  7. I guess this goes perfectly well for my MIL who has diabetes and who doesn’t eat egg….will give it a try πŸ™‚

    LOL @ Ur family’s reaction

    And what song is that?

  8. I should save this recipe, the hell lot of sweet I eat, I am afraid, I am in danger of getting a ban on sweet altogether soon. I don’t like too much sugar in tea coffee etc. in fact I am quite ok with drinking sugar less tea/coffee/juice or eating sugarless cakes. But at the same time I can finish a dozen rasgullas/gulab jamoon/moti choor laddoos/mysore paks./jalebis/chocolates/icecreams in a minute πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

