Mesmerised

At the joy of the niece who makes a bunny like jump in the air and clings to me, when she is seeing me for the first time post her vacation at her grandma’s.

By the power of a smile
    Rush hour in bus, everyone is hassled, from the conductor to the last minute hoppers. It was amusing to see a young mother trying to fit her 3 kids in a seat and answering all their questions. One of the question was so funny that I could not help chuckling, she caught me and then both of us burst out laughing.
    One other time, when I was close to getting squished by heavy set ladies from all the sides, I simply looked around in bewilderment to see the source of my immediate death. Apparently, the features of my face were aligned in a way that the ladies could not help but laugh silly. Seeing them I too joined them. By the time they were finished, my bus stop had already come.

At my impulsiveness
    It has never been my forte. I always plan. Still do. But some things are happening very impulsively. Like the last minute decision to accompany Zack at his friend’s wedding at Belgaum. The early morning dew and mist in summer was astonishing, during the train journey. The Muslim bride I met after threatening the groom that I am not leaving without meeting her in person, was so shy that she did not even lift her eyelids to look at me.  Later I came to know that it is a tradition. Strange.
    Going on a road trip to Mysore when initially it was planned to go somewhere else. The trip was fun, the company more so. Remember M from here? He and his bride were visiting us. Suffice to say, we ladies gossiped a lot.
    Out of the blue planning to have dinner outside. It was raining heavily and I was dead sure there would be no electricity. I had been doing candle light cooking whenever the transformer went bust, which occurs even at the hint of rain and was in mood to do so on a very rainy Friday night. So I asked Zack to directly come off at a restaurant, while I took a bus to the same. And we stuffed ourselves silly. So heavy, that I had to take deep breaths to just stand up from my chair.

By the family
    One evening, I suddenly felt like calling up and talking up to my sisters-in-law. Zack’s sister, his cousin sister, his cousin’s wife. I talk to my ma daily and to my SILs occasionally – mostly twice a month. That day I fell this unexplainable pull that I should talk with all the SILs. I called each one and talked at length. Catching up on lots of stuff.
    Brother called up one day and was indignant that I did not update him personally on my promotion. I felt so guilty on getting reprimanded by my younger brother, in the hectic schedules I had forgotten to check with him.
    When the in-laws came back after their annual pilgrimage, I was immediately relieved of most of the work. The added half an hour of sleep in the mornings was treasure-worthy. As soon as Zack started the resuming his role of a son apart from a husband, came back his laziness in full form. That completely stopped me from extolling his praises to his mom on how he took care of the garden in their absence.

At the wonderful news in blogosphere
    I haven’t been very active in blogging due to heavy work load at office. But whenever I got time I used to skim through posts in my reader. This news had me smiling for many minutes. Such wonderful news! One superstar mom manages to crack me every time I read her updates. The videos of her cuties are the sole reason I sneak off from boring meetings – they bring a tube light glow on my face. Another rockstar mom takes time off to carry on old time email conversations. She thought of me when she read about a tea-cake recipe, just because she remembered me asking her to make it for me, how awesome is that 😉 The regulars checking on me every time I go missing. I promise to treat you with fabulous meals when we meet. Everything hand made. Nothing store bought. Deal.

37 thoughts on “Mesmerised

  1. Awww this post just shows me how much I missed you!!! Pls tell your manager not to dump you with so much work, for your dearest blog friends are missing you 😉

    As usual, a lovely post Visha 🙂 You managed to capture a whole lot of stuff in one post – making up for all the time you were gone. Hope you had a lovely time in Belgaum and Mysore 🙂 Glad you now have an additional hour of sleep.. Bliss, I know 🙂

    While rain is much welcome in this hot summer, what I hate is that transformer bursting and power cuts. For the last two weeks, I was doing vigorous book reading until 1.30 or 2Am under emergency lamp – thanks to the power cut. Sometimes, there are silver linings to some problems.. See you got to go to a restaurant 🙂

    • I should learn to balance blogging and work from now on…cant miss interacting with you 🙂

      The view en route to Belgaum was amazing. The train goes into the forests and mountains for 3 continuous hours!

      Book reading under emergency lamp aa…I wonder what these books are 😀

      That dinner was totally unplanned, yeah..rains bought the silver linings 🙂

      • wow.. Belgaum journey sounds interesting 🙂
        should try it once!

        Hehe.. the books I am yet to finish from my Blossoms loot 😛 I have three more left out 🙂

        • Oh yeah..there are many places worth visiting in a 50km radius from there, we managed just a couple because of the heat 🙂

          Ah, that I do recollect 🙂 I am currently on book 1 of my 4 book haul, and I am sure it will take a long time to finish them 😀

  2. I am loving the happy posts theme on a lot of blogs 🙂 Before I forget, congratulations on the promotion. And yes impulsiveness is good more than often :), I m also becoming one impulsive n happy soul with TBH by my side.

  3. pahhh just because I don’t write an intelligent post on my blog anymore doesn’t mean that you can totally forget to link it here, when you mention the Superstar Mom (*Lord Deppu Deva, hope she was actually writing about me and the babies 😳 ).

    Congrats for the promotion and I would like to celebrate with you if you can feed me that Manga Sambhar and all that can go with it? 😛

    Oh ho candle light dinner, missing in laws, rains, dark nights etc etc……hmmm sounds like a perfect recipe for some notty notty stuffs? 😉

    • Jeez..yeah..I did forget 😳 adding it now 🙂

      Now, take that as a cue and at least put up a post with a one-liner if not three lines 😛 😛 You will add loads of good karma by bringing smiles on your blog followers 😉

      Oh done dana done. I will feed and your boys whatever you wish for.

      Haha, nothing ever misses your eye, does it 😛 😛

  4. Congratulations for your promotions. Smiles have that effect on me too. I smile automatically to the person who smile to me. Smiles change my mood instantly.

    I have a two cousins. They are still very young in KGs. Though we meet quite often they always come running as soon as they see me from far away. It never cease to amaze me that how sweet our bond is. Seeing there megawatt smiles and knowing you are the reason behind it makes your day. 😀

  5. LOVED this post. It gave me a lot of ideas and inspiration. I had several beautiful moments to write about, and was wondering how to. Now, thanks to you, I know. 🙂

    Especially loved the last few sentences of your post. I am gonna take you up on that deal when we meet. OK? 😀

    • Ah..waiting to read your beautiful moments, glad to be of an inspiration 😛

      Oh deal deal. Will feed you with whatever I can come up with 😉

  6. Awww…Many Congratulations on the promotion front 🙂 You put down ver lucidly all the simple pleasures in life..Smile, that too with co-passengers in buses, how much it connects and makes us be “in-the-moment” nah..Wish you many many such situations that leave you mesmerised 🙂 And welcome back after your hibernation to the blog !

  7. I loved this post of yours!!! There is something bright & positive about it!!!! And that is why I love your writings!!! You put jaan in mundane things so keep writing regularly 🙂

  8. Lovely post.
    Your family is great. I love the happiness and positivity with which you mention them in your posts. 🙂
    And thanks for the mention and your lovely wishes. 🙂 I am not able to read posts regularly nowadays because I am sleep deprived most of the times. 🙂

  9. Reading your post made me really happy … By reading your posts I feel life becomes a lot simpler when you take simple joys of life Seriously 🙂 🙂

Would love to read your views :)

