The two minute schedule

My morning schedule before going to work –

8:55 – The lunch box is packed for Zack
8:55 to 8:57 – Wolf down the breakfast which would be pongal/dosa/idli/poori/upma
8:57 to 8:59 – Change into work friendly clothes and fix hair so that it does not look like a nest.
8:59 to 9:00 – Pack the handbag, slip into flats, plonk self on the already-started-bike pillion and enjoy the passing views.


This remains the same irrespective of what time I wake up. One day, I woke up at 6 and finished all the chores by 8:15. Still I had just 2 minutes to eat and 2 minutes to get ready. I had immersed myself in reading the newspaper and looked up when I heard a mild cry asking me to look at the clock. One other day when I had woken up early , I spent almost half an hour on drawing the kolams 😯


And now when I am perfectly attuned to this harried schedule of rushing away to work, in less than two weeks I can devour the pongal slowly and actually spend some time rummaging the wardrobe due to my changed office timings. When I mentioned this to Zack last night, he said – “Finally you will know the real taste of what you cook.” Even though he loves Chandler to bits, he does not have an iota of the latter’s sarcastic sensibilities. So am not sure what to make of his statement 😐

35 thoughts on “The two minute schedule

  1. I so get that two minute schedule Visha.. just that in my case it remains one minute πŸ™„ Only last week I was wondering how do I manage to not have time inspite of getting up early and finishing tasks much earlier.. and now I see your post πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    What time changes? LOL on Zack’s comment!! I say put him on fasting for a day, then ask him his comments about your food again πŸ‘Ώ :mrgreen: *This is what I keep threatening S* πŸ˜€

    • We are actually supergirls GB πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ I am in better place though, I have two full minutes rather than one πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      So I wrote what was in your mind…yay πŸ˜€

      Oh no, it will be worse, I have tried that already :mrgreen: He will be the happiest soul and will start plotting with his colleagues on what to eat for lunch. And then he will mail me what all stuff he ate πŸ˜†

  2. He He on Zack’s reply. And there are few habits we get attuned to and doesn’t change irrespective of change in situation. It’s the same with me and my bathing timing, even when I have ample time I rush it. I have to force myself to spend some leisure time in there and when I feel I have taken like eternity to bath, the clock just shows ten minutes.

  3. LOL @ the last line.

    You are one superlady only. You make breakfast and then you draw kolams before you get ready to go to work? I need at least 1-1/2 hour to get ready for office comfortably – and that is without the kolams and eating something quick (like oats or sandwiches) for breakfast.

  4. Am so jealous now Visha! I too get only 2 mins each to wolf down the breakfast, dress and pack lunch, but I have to leave at 07.30 am and I get up at 5.45 😦
    BTW, Couldn’t stop smiling at Zack’s comment πŸ™‚

  5. lol!!! pretty much the same with me too.. irrespective of how early I wake up I’m always rushing the last few minutes…and mind you by early I mean 5 a.m. early!

    Blog hopped and found your blog πŸ™‚ loved it!

  6. ha ha ha ha ha….I am sure he errr said it in a nice way!!

    And u know I am exactly like you, I am so atuned to hurrying up that when I have extra time I spend it on things that are Not That important and ultimately I errr am short of time!!! πŸ˜€

  7. Oh dear, I once used to rush away like that but somehow due to my late office timings, it changed. I do the opposite of you. Lazing around while doing every job. That is also not good 😦

    And about zack’s statement, he should have meant it in a nice way. If that’s not the case, you know what to do πŸ˜‰

  8. Time does fly in the morning Visha! You have a very packed schedule. I just wake up to get ready and if K doesn’t go on one of his ” I want to lseep for 5 more mins”, I fix up a small bfast and am off. I leave home by 6:50 in the mornings. I disliked getting ready in the dark (you know what I mean) but am okay with it now πŸ˜›

    I admire your ability to fit in so many things πŸ™‚

    • Oh yeah…dressing up without light and sound πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Habituated now..I was the laziest at the parent’s before marriage πŸ˜€

Would love to read your views :)

