The tomato story

Two tomatoes were lying on the dining table since 2 weeks. They were plucked from the home garden when they showed a hint of red from the sea of green, washed, dried and laid on a plate to ripen. To see them every morning was a pretty sight. Tufts of green leaves on their head, which made them look as if they sprouted spiky hairs.  And two of them sitting side by side, you could imagine their gummy smiles too. As each day passed, the colors started to change. From green to orange to red. But they never morphed into bright red like the ones we see and buy in the markets.


Should they be used today, or should we wait for tomorrow, would be the question me, FIL and MIL would ponder. After all, this was the first time we could eat home-grown tomatoes. As luck would have it, we ran out of store-bought tomatoes today morning. Rasam had to be made and there was no other alternative left. The redder of the two had to be finalized. And the choosing ceremony happened. Now the lone less-redder tomato sits alone on the dining table, looking forlorn and lost. Maybe, the last thing it discussed with the now used up tomato was  – “your turn or mine” πŸ˜€

42 thoughts on “The tomato story

  1. The joy of home grown vegetable is just awesome…!! I remember when I was a small Girl my mom used to grow Chawli,Curry leaves, lemons ,Custard apple in our Aangan.And we children loved to see the fruits vegetables grow on trees

    • All credits to my in-laws. I just used to select which veggies we will grow. Their hard work has bore vegetables now πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Its an awesome feeling to spot a fruit or vegetable hanging from the plant/tree πŸ™‚

  2. Haha…super nice post πŸ™‚

    LOL on β€œyour turn or mine” πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Btw, how did the rasam with the home grown tomato turn out? πŸ™‚

  3. First of all…..hahahahaha!!!! Hilarious!!
    Second, wow!! you grow veggies!! That’s so awesome! I’m pretty fond of gardening & growing veggies would be a dream come true! Lovely write up! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it helps with the soaring veggie prices πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      That aside, we always had greens growing up, so thought why not try with veggies too..now we have tomato, ridge gourd and bitter gourd vying our attention πŸ˜€

      Glad you liked the post πŸ™‚

  4. Oh the joy of growing your own veggies πŸ™‚ In Mysore, we had a lovely kitchen garden and soem fruit trees. I was too young to realize the effort that went into maintaining it but eventually the garden reduced in size. I so miss it terribly now.
    I want to grow my veggies too but just so scared of killing them given our crazy travel and weekend getaways.

    You must have had devoured the rasam to the last drop praising the taste every nnow and then πŸ˜›

    • When the inlaws were ready to leave for their vacation in late April, FIL called me aside before stepping out and whispered, do not forget my plants πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I had extra dollops of rasam last night πŸ˜‰

  5. Tap all your shoulders πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ growing healthy veggies is some thing like wowwww and eating them is always a heaven πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I am very fond of tomatoes, any form it will go inside πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love the write up πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ it will be so crazy to see them turn red and the patience level will always go below zero to eat them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ so how the rasam tasted πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. I so know what you are talking about!! When we moved to our newly built house ten years back. Oh, I am talking about my parents place again πŸ˜€ We had planted tomato seeds and chili seeds. Within no time, we had a large area covered with tomato and chili plants and they gave super good yield. I always love vegetable garden so much. I remember a time we never had to buy tomatoes and green chilies from market. I am sure the rasam tasted awesome πŸ™‚

    • Who said you should not be taking about parents place πŸ˜€

      This is the first time I am eating home grown veggies, at my parent’s place we only had curry leaves plant, rest all were flowers. Luckily we are able to grow veggies here πŸ™‚

      Yep, rasam was tasty πŸ™‚

  7. LOL

    It is such a pleasure to eat home-grown veggies. πŸ™‚ I have experimented several times with growing my own veggies, but that doesn’t seem to happen. Tomatoes are especially jinxed, for us. 😦

  8. Am amazed at how you turn simple incidents into interesting ones. You definitely got a knack for that Visha πŸ™‚

    Home-grown veggies are indeed better, just that they require so much of patience. The next tomato is maybe looking forward to fulfill the purpose of its existence as tomato chutney. Or not! πŸ˜‰

  9. can’t wait to grow the veggies in our new backyard Visha.. already decided the place for herbs patch πŸ™‚
    Oh and lovely post yaar.. I can totally imagine tomatoes giving gummy smiles like chubby small kids without teeth smiling lol

  10. ha ha ha ha love the way you made a story out of the tomato’s!!!! And yes joy of home grown veggies is something else. I rememeber when we were in Gorakhpur we used to grow every thing from potatos to onions to tomatos etc at home….and u know we used to have fresh salad..with palak carrot mooli etc straight out of the garden? What fun it was!

  11. Hahaha! Crazy! πŸ˜€
    Make something of the poor lone tomato as well, and fast! It shouldn’t end up going into a squashy depression!

  12. I grew up eating a lot of home grown veggies – tomatoes, chillies, beans, red spinach, cucumber, egg plant, bitter gourd, ivy gourd, pumpkins, drum sticks, banana, sweet potato., tapioca… even now these are grown in the backyard of my Kerala home, though the quantity has reduced..
    Visha you are so creative.. such a funny story :).. But the lone tomato might have cried “ma nishada.. err .. ma Visha…..” you could have added a snap of the protagonists πŸ™‚

  13. You have captured it so beautifully Visha..I had a similar experience sometime ago..I just flipped through my phone to look at the two tomatoes that were home grown and I was so indecisive whether to eat it raw or to use it in dishes..finally one I ate raw and savoured , the other went to rasam..we have removed the tomato plants for it was growing wild..After reading how beautifully you have described, feel like wanting to grow again..and for the other veggies, I’m now coming to your home to get seeds/saplings..:)

  14. I once grew a brinjal plant and plucked the only brinjal and waited for it for days but sadly it got spoilt.. :\ So much for home grown.. πŸ˜€

Would love to read your views :)

