Family secret

After living with a set of people for more than two years, you would think you know most of the stuff. Family issues, personal issues, who cheated whom, the love affairs, the high/low grades of the kids..you get the idea. Now I was under the same impression that I know almost everything about the family.

When I saw Zack chuckling madly at a comedy scene on the telly while having dinner, I was expecting him to choke on his food, he was laughing so hard! Suddenly FIL and MIL joined as a chorus, while I was the only one having an incredulous look on my face. I paid a little more attention to what the telly was speaking against the downpour of laughiccups ( laughter + hiccups) I felt lost. One actor was speaking in Malayalam.

When the chortles had died down, I asked in  general, “All of you understand Malayalam is it”

MIL : “Oh yeah, we may not be able to speak, but we do get it.”
Me: “But where and when did you learn”
MIL: “It’s so similar to Tamil, that’s why”

Me (in my mind) :Eh, even I speak Tamil, but I have never been able to understand if someone speaks to me. Some environmental effect I guess.

Zack was still not finished with his laughter, while I sat flummoxed as to how I never knew this family secret.

37 thoughts on “Family secret

  1. There is always something unknown to us, even in the person we feel we know the best. There are times, S has had this effect on me πŸ˜€

    Hey I do understand Malayalam too.. usually one can understand if he/she knows Tamil πŸ™‚

    • In that case, I do not know Tamil well enough πŸ™‚

      I guess if you read/ write Tamil, you get the hold of Malayalam well πŸ˜€

      Ah, the many stories of the unknown…sigh πŸ™‚

      • Well, not effortlessly though if some efforts are paid in formative years it become effortless. πŸ™‚ to the best of my info.

        More over it also depends which part of Tamilnadu one belongs to, more proximity to Kerala borders, less efforts one has to pay. πŸ™‚

        • Yep, the formative years do play a role.

          Ah no..these people are brought up in chennai who say they understand malayalam well, so I guess the proximity is not a parameter πŸ™‚

  2. The title and the start sounded so scary πŸ˜› But yes I agree to the secrets bit, I think few things keep unfolding themselves bit by bit in two families and that’s how it should be. It adds so much flavor to life πŸ™‚

  3. Awww! At least these are your in-laws! Sometimes I feel the same with my own parents! I guess every family or sets of friends in a family have their own secrets πŸ™‚

  4. Was listening to a Malayalam song sung by jesudas in the bus, was surprised o hear so many tamil words being used in mallu as well. I also think that the comedy scene that you refer may have been more of a visual comedy scene than a dialog base one.

  5. hey dear.. its actually easy to understand Malayalam when you know tamil.. and u can understand kannada when you know both tamil and telugu.. :).. they sound similar.. ;).. next time listen carefully..

  6. LOL. As GB says, there’s always something more to know in the people we think we know very well. Same story with the OH and his family too. πŸ™‚

    The OH and his entire family speak Malayalam so well, as if they were locals! I am the only person not getting all the jokes. 😦

Would love to read your views :)

