The good ones

I am meeting only good people these days. Before the not-good ones leave their mark arrive and imprint themselves in my memory, let me document the former ones here :mrgreen:

The bus driver I encountered the other day was extremely polite. I take the seat closest to the exit since I get down after 2 stops. Most of the time I stand near the exit to save myself from getting squished inside. That day my dupatta was fluttering a la movie style, out of the window while I was unaware of it. The driver called out to me and said these exact words, “Madam, please take the dupatta in, I cannot see the mirror.” Firstly, he said Madam, so yay πŸ˜€ . Secondly he was so courteous, he could have been rude since it was obstructing his driving in peak traffic.

I am extremely wary of eunuchs who demand money when we wait for the traffic signal to go from red to green, both on road and on railway tracks. They ‘bless’ us, extract money and disappear. Once someone decided not to give them money and he received a loud, really loud speech in return. Since that time, I have been a bit judgmental about this community. I have encountered them twice during my bus journeys. Once we were standing right besides each other, once we were sitting right besides each other. And all my assumed myths and notions came crashing down. The day the bus was sparsely populated, I got in and sat down on the lone unoccupied seat. I did not think at that time why some ladies are standing even though there is a seat. When I chanced upon the window, it is then I noticed. She was having a long, faraway look. Not once did I feel uncomfortable, more so, I felt like I am making her uncomfortable, by stealing glances whenever possible.. We shared the same bus stop and both of us stood up at the same time. I still remember how gracefully she tucked her saree and allowed all the ladies to pass by and then alighted from the bus. The next time I meet any one of them, I am going to be relaxed.

There is this chain of medical shops known as MedPlus where in if you have their membership, you get 10% off of all purchases. Zack is a member and we buy from one particular medical shop in our area. That day, he was not with me and I got a call from MIL asking for some medicines while I was alighting my bus at night. A good 10 minute walk would take me to a MedPlus, but not the one where in we always purchase. While billing, the chemist asked me for my membership number, I could have called Zack and asked the same, but the hungry, tired me did not do so and told him to proceed. To my utter surprise, he gave me the bill with 10% off.

I hope this run of bumping into blessed souls keeps going on πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “The good ones

  1. Did I tell you this before? All your posts bring a smile on my lips :). Bless you and bless all the good souls in this world! πŸ™‚

    I have had a similar encounter with an eunuchs when we were working on a documentary cum education program for them and those 2 days showed me a whole new world. Sadly, all ours views on them have been fed by the Indian Cinema and its stupid portrayal of eunuchs.

  2. Ur posts are laden with positivity. what goes around comes around since ur a nice person and hope u encounter people with positive vibes. sometimes, eunuchs may trouble us but I feel it’s wrong to label them. Love ur posts as always.

  3. All I know that with you kind of outlook for life and people in general, you definitely will keep bumping the blessed souls. And may you do find such people all along. And thanks for all the lovely birthday wishes πŸ™‚

  4. Awwwww bless those good souls and wish this doesnt stop for you with these three incidents. πŸ™‚

    Dupatta incident has happened with me too. Thankfully I too didnt get scolded. πŸ™‚ I remain extra careful with my duppata these days.

    Its so true about eunuchs. Its kind of scary for me to see them at traffic signals or in shops demanding money.. but they are only those few people. I happened to watch a programme on very successful eunuchs few years back and if I say I had goosebumps, its an understatement.

    That medical shopper owner had been really good!

    • Oh did not GB, I met an absolutely gem of a person at the bank on Saturday πŸ™‚

      I blame the strategic wind blowing for the dupatta scenes πŸ˜€

      Even I recollect it now, though in bits and pieces only πŸ™‚

      Yeah, I have been meaning to make my purchases from that shop more often now.

  5. Such good deeds make u feel blessed!!! Sometimes I feel we judge people a lot and thereby start seeing them in a specific light and sometimes our judgement can be soooo way off I tell you

  6. It’s so good to meet some good people in a row. Reaffirms your faith in life and people. πŸ™‚

    I am very scared of eunuchs too, thanks to some not-so-nice incidents involving them that I have witnessed. I try not to judge them as a community – I know not all of them are bad. However, I have seen most of them taking advantage of common people, and that is what makes me wary of them.

    • And I met another one on Saturday at the bank. Looks like either I am going having a very good run or some really nasty ones are going to make their presence felt in my life and this lot is the calm before the storm πŸ˜†

      I am still terrified of them as a group, but I think I can keep myself in check on seeing one of them, now. πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

