The real magic

I got the fourth book in this series first in my hand. Papa’s visits to Chennai always made him visit the Moore Market and get some books for us, invariably before boarding the train due to the close proximity of the market. Why and how he picked this particular book I do not know, but what I do know is made me fall hook, line and sinker into the world of magic. When I started reading, I could not understand some bits of it, too many whys and hows hovered in my mind. I finished the book in 3 days and was impatiently waiting to lay my hands to the first three. I finished each of the book subsequently, more often in a single shot, only sleeping because I had to be awake the next day. Friendship, love, honor, trust, courage, grief, sorrow, death and what not, were woven so intricately and most importantly believably. Philosophy was never so interesting, as was the turmoil of a teenage heart.

To the lady who introduced us to the world of magic

Happy birthday JK Rowling

And

Happy birthday Harry Potter

For a long time, I thought Daniel, who played the role of Harry in the movie adaptations had the same birthdate as the author and the character. I am sure I read it in some magazine long ago. When I checked wiki just to be sure before posting, I saw that hisΒ  birth-date is 23rd July actually. Nevertheless, it’s the birthday of two characters, one fictional, one real who have made so many people happy worldwide. Live long and prosper πŸ™‚

31 thoughts on “The real magic

  1. Every time I think of her, the same thing pops into my head – J.K. Rowling created a whole new world out of just her imagination and made it so real that she made the rest of the world feel its existence. That’s magic for me, right there.

  2. I read the Third book first and it is still my fav..Got it in Chennai railway station long before the book became famous ..I got it after reading a review in the “Literary Review” of “The Hindu”. The suspense that JKR builds and the way she connects the dots..Simply fabulous..

    • Paatiammaaaa…..how old are you…60 or 70?? I just completed 80 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      Even my favorite is the first one I read, in my case, the fourth of the series. Even though I had no idea how and why Sirius transformed himself now and then or who Voldemort actually was, the book enthralled me πŸ™‚

  3. I remember reading the first book first after borrowing it from a 4th std kid in school. That was the day I started looking at railway platforms and imagining alleys in random street corners. I still believe that Hogwarts exists. Thanks for this post Visha! πŸ™‚

    Meanwhile, let me wait for my owl to deliver my admissions letter. OOOOh!

  4. I guess I will be the only one not to have read Harry Potter at all. I want to start now, but not sure how will I feel after catching up the movies of some books in the series. You can watch a movie after reading the book.. but reading the book after watching the movie? I guess I will go back to the scenes of the movie rather than have my imagine work πŸ™„

    • What they show in the movies is different from the world which is conjured up by reading the books GB. Also lot of script changes are made which deviate from the plot lines. I wish you read the books someday and get enchanted πŸ™‚

  5. I have just read the first book in the HP series, and none after that. I must be the only person out here who is not an HP fan.

    I read that it was JK Rowling and Harry Potter’s birthday on the 30th, on Facebook, thanks to many fan friends. INitially, like you, I thought Daniel shared his birthday with JK Rowling. Now, thanks to her post, I know that the character Harry Potter’s birthdate has been matched by the author to her own. πŸ™‚ That’s one of the joys of writing, I think – the way you can weave subtle things from your own life into your stories, and no one need ever know. πŸ™‚

    • Oh 😦 Sad that the magical world did not impress you. Wish you do dive into it sometime in future, one should never lose hope you see πŸ˜‰

      Err..’her post’?? who πŸ™„

      She actually included a real girl’s name in Book 4, and no one knew about it until she disclosed it in an interview. That little girl was in her last stage of cancer and wanted to be immortalized. So JKR included her name as one of the new students who gets sorted into one of the four houses. The liberties authors have πŸ™‚

      • Such a sweet anecdote about the author. So nice of her! πŸ™‚

        Oops, not ‘her’ post. I meant ‘your’ post.

        The world of magic does impress me. For instance, Roald Dahl’s books or Chocolat or The Lollipop Shoes. Somehow, HP didn’t. 😦

  6. What a coincidence!! I am re-reading the 3rd book in honor of their birthdays! πŸ™‚
    I love Harry Potter and everything he and the books stand for! πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

