Dreams

My brother never dreams in his sleep. Nor does my father. Nor does Zack. Each one of them have sound, deep sleep. Before I conclude that this feature is exist only on those minds who do not over think, I found out that my MIL also has dreamless sleep. She is one who keeps thinking all the day, majorly voicing her opinions πŸ˜€ The moment she closes her eyes she snores after 5 seconds. Even her mother and sister cannot fathom this fact of hers πŸ™„

I wish everyday that I get a peaceful and deep sleep, but I can count on my fingers the days I have not dreamt while sleeping till date. The only cause I find which works for my mind and body is total physical exhaustion. Like the day I worked in my garden – digging, shoveling, making the flowerbed with the freshly dug mud, fetching pails of water, etc. Or the house-warming functions in the families – attending the guests, walking up and down the stairs, pre and post cleaning, kitchen work, never getting a chance to be idle, etc. It’s only under such extreme physical labour that my mind manages to go into a blissful clean slate, otherwise it works 24×7.

It’s not always what happened during the day which is manifested in the dream, or the movie scene I just saw before I went to sleep. It does happen sometimes though which can be 20% numerically. Most of the times the dreams are disjointed, unrelated, downright funny, surreal, mysterious, but never plain. How do I explain myself why did I dream about meeting a girl who left my school when she was 8 and to whom I spoke only twice or thrice πŸ™„ Or the way I see the same dream from start to finish at various ages. Or the manner in which I know what course should the dream take this time, since the outcome of an alternative course was already experienced.

This ‘no-dream-no-sleep’ thingie effectively secludes me from the rest of the family, both maiden and in-laws.
There have been uncountable times when I have envied the brother, who sleeps like a sloth once his eyes are closed. When I ask him, he says he might have dreamed, about once or twice. And he is 21. Go figure.

The feel-envy-tradition continued with Zack. The guy dreams occurrences can be categorized as rarest of the rare, actually he says he never had dreams until he was single. Only when I came in, he had dreams about me. What do you dream about me I ask. Oh some unusual stuff, you are angry at me and you are not allowing me to sleep peacefully. To slightly redeem the situation he improvises and says he dreamt that I go on a world tour alone.

How I wish to give my mind a break. Sigh. Do you guys have tips for having dreamless sleeps?

35 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. I have dreamless sleep too. I feel out of place when people discuss their dreams 😐

    Why do you want to have dreamless sleep? You get so many stories to narrate.

    • You too!!

      To sleep soundly, to give my mind a rest.

      The mornings carry forward the aftereffects of the dreams and the thoughts are directed to it – a fresh mind loses its meaning then.

  2. Hey meditate for a while before you go to sleep.. close your eyes and concentrate on your breath.. do it for sometime.. I am sure it will help over a period of time.. It might take some time, but all you need is patience πŸ™‚ Also, think of really peaceful and happy things before you go to bed.. that also helps πŸ™‚

  3. Haha I can totally relate to this. My mind works 247. It’s like even when I go to bed, I am thinking and I keep thinking all day long and stuff revolves in my mind all night long. So its very rare that I sleep peacefully and that only happens when I work a lot physically. I guess you need to keep yourself busy, do something healthy to have a peaceful sleep. Sometimes I literally crave for it but then again I think too much and because of that its hard for me to doze off like my brother. Haha. I envy my brother too for the same reason. I ll let you if I figured out something. =)

  4. The partner has the ability of snoozing the moment he hits the bed. I have vivid dreams.. The last dream that I well remember is a kid telling to me “So jao”..That is a great achievement to a “karraab” hindhi speaking buddhu like me..

  5. I am going to look out for the answers to your question here. YES. I cant remember a single I had dreamless sleep. Sometimes its like I never slept at all. There are scary ones, weird ones, funny ones, unreal ones and again those scary ones. S just like Zack has never had dreams. He never ever dreams and has such a good time listening to my dreams everyday.

    Sigh!

  6. eh! join the club! I dream waaaaayyyyy too much for my liking 😦
    I recently dreamed about Shah Rukh Khan going on a tour but ends up going to some other planet and ends up eating aliens. That was last night. I have NO idea how I dreamed about that!
    U should be glad of the dreaming though….I feel it as a sign of a creative mind πŸ™‚

  7. Not always!!! My dreams are usually very vivid! So vivid that sometimes I can physically feel things happening to me……

    And don’t laugh I dream about Salman Khan quite often…and everytime he woos me πŸ˜€

  8. If you get some tips that also work, please pass that on to me… I am in the same state as yours…but I do share it with a lot of my folks specially the sister and the mom. And mom being the spiritual lady she is, her dreams mostly connotes something…and we keep on connecting it with some future events that might occur.

    • None as of now πŸ™‚

      If you remember your dreams, maintain a dream diary πŸ˜‰ I rarely recollect once I open my eyes, but once I am dreaming something in my sleep, I remember some past ones or related ones πŸ™„

  9. have the same problem ……. just yesterday dreamt of afriend who died 5yrs back …..that she is alive and am so happy and kept on asking her where she was all this while ……oh god ……. it felt so real ……..
    normally am just a silent reader but this post hit a chord ……

  10. I can relate to this post a lot, Visha. My mind works 24/7, too. πŸ™‚ I can count on my fingers the days I sleep peacefully without waking up in the night. I am a very light sleeper, and wake up at the slightest sound, sometimes even by the OH turning around in his sleep. 😦 As a result, on most days, I wake up feeling sleep-deprived. I wait for days when I sleep soundly, and wake up all happy and refreshed in the morning.

    That said, I sometimes have vivid dreams, and at other times, I do not have dreams. Not having any dreams does not guarantee a sound sleep, you know? Also, I thought it was only you slept soundly that you had dreams. No? I always find I am better rested in the morning when I have had a dream, as compared to the nights I haven’t. How do you explain that?

    • You should be the lightest sleeper I have heard off TGND πŸ˜€ I do not wake up at night unless I hear something loud, but I am pretty sure that I do not get into a deep sleep due to my dreams 😦

      You have put some interesting ideas in my mind now. Let me collect them and then put it here πŸ™‚

  11. I dream long, vivid dreams as well!! They run like a movie or a book!! πŸ˜›
    But, some nights are blessedly peaceful with no dreams! πŸ˜€

  12. Arre! The ability to sleep at a moment’s notice, and have dreamless sleeps are not the same thing! I can sleepy ANYTIME in a minute. But my sleep is always dream ridden. Even a 5 minute nap will have dreams. I am not fond of them, but I also have a unique sense which tells me this is a dream, so I enjoy it like a movie. Sacchi me πŸ˜‰

    • Sleep is not at all an issue, but I always dream, I want to have a non-dreamy one. I have experienced the effects of one, so looking for solutions on a permanent basis.

      The ones in the family who I ‘interviewed’ fall asleep in 5 seconds and *gasp* never dream πŸ˜₯

  13. I’m even better/worse, I dream about whatever I do in the day.. Recently I also dreamt of meeting a blogger who’s blog I read for the first time that day. πŸ˜€

Would love to read your views :)

