The would be story-teller

I love telling stories to little kids. There used to be a 3-year-old kid in my neighborhood during my school days, her parents used to love me solely because I would make her go to sleep within minutes, courtesy my stories. I would not start with any particular sketch or outline, but would go with the flow taking any animate or inanimate object. I love to tell animal stories though, and would incorporate at least one animal in whatever story I cooked, elephants used to make a regular appearance πŸ˜€

The niece loves to hear stories and I like to hear her imagination when she reasons the characters out. She will remember and recall exactly where we had left off the last time and ask me to continue. One such story was of a little elephant who loses his way in the big city but eventually finds his way back to his parents who are in the jungle.
After hearing it, she is waiting to get lost so that she can too get back to her parents. A complete face palm moment for me, but nevertheless I believe it will be useful to her if and when she has to face this situation.

During the last Skype call with the family, she told me that her mom is not telling her stories the way I do. I asked does she remember the older stories. And there she goes to list out each and every one which I have told her. She also adds, “I will tell all these stories to your baby, and some more of mine too. Every day one new story.”

One thing less for me to worry about πŸ˜‰

18 thoughts on “The would be story-teller

    • I always forget what I told, but I am given a recap on what happened in the story, and then I continue from there πŸ˜€

      Ok, the day I dont have anything to write about, will start cooking stories here πŸ˜‰

  1. How cute! πŸ™‚

    Reminded me of the times when I was a little kid and Amma used to tell me stories. She would be utterly sleepy in the afternoons, after all the household work, and I, not at all. She would tell me a story about a lion, and suddenly, in her sleepiness, it would turn into a rat or a donkey or a horse. And I would immediately pipe up, “But you were telling me the story of the lion, no, Amma?” πŸ˜› And then, she would force herself to open her eyes a little bit and tell me a little bit more about the lion, before it turned into a rat or a horse again. πŸ˜€

    • Haha, I know! Even in my case, I need to be sure the story has a valid structure no matter how hare-brained it is. Otherwise I would have another set of who-how-what-why waiting for me πŸ˜€

  2. So cute! I love stories! Listening to them I mean… πŸ˜€
    My dad was like that too, he used to pick some random thing and spin a story around it, when we were kids. πŸ™‚

  3. Awwww!! Soooo sweet!!!

    You know I never thought I could tell a story but my brat is making me do stranger things!!!! πŸ˜€

  4. OMG.. really she is waiting to get lost?? lol
    Why only elephants make special appearance and no other animal?? πŸ˜›
    btw… No one use to tell me stories in my childhood, maybe you should tell me one or two πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  5. Visha, I am so so poor at conjuring up stories and tales like that. Please start recording the stories from your head and your little story teller and pass on the legacy to me when it’s time πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

