Main clay ki deewani hoon

The heat is too much outside,
But it is bearable inside
Only because of the water pot of clay
I think I can survive the month of May

The clay water pot, commonly known as matka sits on the loft for most part of the year. But with the end of winters, it is reverentially taken out, cleaned thoroughly, dried in the sun and then filled with water to quench our thirst. It needs to be handled with utmost care, the chances of it getting a crack are high, which is why as kids, we would never be allowed near it when it would be bought new or the old one would get down from its resting place.
Come summer and all I think is of having water from the clay pot. It tastes sweeter and obviously cooler. Refrigerated water does not come anywhere closer in my opinion. The perfect chillness, which will never cause cold and the sweet taste of clay which makes me want to fill up my stomach with water as soon as I enter the home after a trip outside is to be experienced.

Post marriage, I missed the clay pot the most during summers. The in-laws do not have a habit of using them. I lost the taste of naturally conditioned cool water amidst refrigerated ones. We actually drink from the plastic cans which has a very neutral taste 😐

If there ever is a chance for me to learn using the potter’s wheel, I would gladly do so. I would make batches of clay tumblers and have them stored carefully. Mornings I would fill them with water and set them in a cool place. I would wait one day for the clay to release its smell and sweetness. And then I whenever I would feel thirsty, I will go and quench myself with clay-ed water πŸ˜€

19 thoughts on “Main clay ki deewani hoon

  1. Mai bhi clay ki deewani hu πŸ™‚ Matke ke pani ki bhi, getting dirty with clay ki bhi :). And I too wanna learn pottery, I have even found a place in Bangalore which provides some great short courses, if only my Bangalore visit would clash with the classes.

  2. Except occasionally I havent tasted water from clay pot 😦 Your post reminds me, I have two clay tumblers that I start to store water in πŸ™‚ Will update you soon πŸ™‚

  3. I used to love drinking the cool water from the clay pot at an uncle’s place when we visited them every summer holidays. But like you said with all the modern stuff available, it’s rare to find them now.

    • I get them easily here, at my parents place. But there is no sight of them at my in-laws. Maybe I should try the city outskirts πŸ™„

  4. There is this awesome taste in clay wala maktas…I usually buy matkas in April mid and then use them till June end πŸ™‚ The water tastes so much sweeter..my parents keep a matka all the time πŸ™‚

  5. Ah, you evoke such nostalgia in me with this post! I have such fond memories of drinking water from clay pots back home at Ahmedabad. Sadly, we never did that in Bangalore. I miss that the most about summers. 😦

    Recently, Bangalore has become super-duper hot, and I have been craving for the taste of clay-cool water in my mouth. Just today, the OH and me were talking about buying a clay pot this summer for sure. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Randomness | The Girl Next Door

  7. We get the clay pot out every summer. The taste of the water will be so good and I would that somehow it quenches the thirst better than normal water. πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

