Shoe sorry

I must have the worst luck with footwear. I am not comfortable walking in heels so that leaves me just with ballets, sandals and flats.Β No matter how basic, comfortable and stylish they be, I have to go to the shoe shop again after three months.

95% of the times, they have a tear so bad, I have to throw them away. They simply do not last 😦

I blame it on my walking. I walk through all kinds of roads and weather. My love for the same is not new. Given an option to go the market or the bank on foot, I would gladly do that instead of hopping on a bike. Bangalore is famous for its anytime-anywhere rains, which gives all kinds of terrain trainings to walking enthusiasts. When it rains, you do not know the step you are about to take will be on a firm surface or pothole. And the non-tar roads are such a slushy mess, that navigating through them without messing up your salwars and pants itself is a great achievement. So all the brunt is being borne by the material adorning my feet. And not only Bangalore, even in my hometown, my shoes did not last for more than six months.

Every visit to the shoe shop will have the salesman fawning over the choice I made saying it will be good for all kinds of weather, be in rain or cold. “Madam, full guarantee. Any problem, bring it back, but problem will not come only, superb piece.” The Bata showroom near my place has seen me more times than the temple.

Even though I have to keep on shoe shopping, I do not own more than two pairs. One I use only for special occasions, like weddings and reception. The other one is the variable, never there for more than twelve weeks. That too I have to make sure it is matching with all kinds of attires – western and traditional.

Tired of this Zack once suggested me to get a very high end branded shoes, telling they will last forever. But I do not have the heart to invest three thousand rupees when I know my ill fate would have me needing a pair again. This birthday, brother gifted me with a pair of Adidas sportsΒ shoes. Actual implication and underlying meaning of it was to use it to walk and run and lose weight πŸ™„ I know they will last long, but who wears them with salwars 😦

There are so many pretty and beautiful shoes out there and I wish I had the good fortune to try the awesome styles and designs. I know one shoe lover who has the neatest and prettiest collection ever! May you keep amassing even more and more πŸ˜‰

I think I should be happy that at least I get my shoe size easily, sigh!

25 thoughts on “Shoe sorry

  1. I have stopped going to Bata only. Their sandals never last long for me. I have found this new footwear shop near my house, where there are not many designs but I kind of like the service. Last time I took my torn slippers (as the sales guy said free repair within 3months) and they made my chappals as good as new πŸ™‚

    Even today, I dread buying new sandals – I know I will have the worst shoe bites ever with any variety of slippers I try.

  2. Oh dear! It might be worth investing in a high end pair, they might last longer you know. I wear jeans, kurtis and sport shoes when walk a lot in India/Bangalore. I don’t trust myself in anything else.

    Here, in the UK, I’m perpetually in the lookout for medium high heels which are also comfortable. I see no hope for me in that direction at all :

    • Hmm, I must give it a thought seriously. Now to find a footwear which matches all kinds of attires without burning a hole in my pocket is needs to be done.

      Hope you find your heels pretty soon πŸ™‚

  3. I love shoes! And the only ones I wear have a min 3 inch heel. And I love walking, which I do in heels all the time perhaps ruining my back, knees and everything, but I do πŸ˜€
    For flats, online is best no! So cheap, so much variety, u can recycle with zero guilt!

    • Hahaha, but you dont feel any difference when you switch between heals and flats? I always wonder that πŸ™‚

      True, true. And fits the budget too πŸ˜€

  4. Wish you a Happy New Year Visha !!!
    Am so happy reading this.. finally there is some one like me whose shoes/sandals do not last for more than 3 months!!! I want to introduce you to all my family members.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And am also not comfortable walking in high heels !
    But lucky you, you get your shoe size easily.. mine is hard to find 😦

    • Hey Seena, long time, no see πŸ™‚ How are you? Happy New Year to you and your family, how is Babs…

      Hehe, would be glad to tell your family about my sad story πŸ˜‰

      Oh dear! then how do you manage…

  5. I already envy that shoe lover. I must tell you, you are not alone with the problem. I am here. I can even think that you wrote the post just to echo my thoughts. πŸ™‚ I feel like i buy one pair every month. I just stopped spending thousands. I frequently raid our Centro shops who have sales every now and then. 2 pairs for some 1200-1300 Rs. is a good deal to me. Adding to it is my size problem. I never find the perfect size as my length scale always stays one step behind the height scale resulting in me ending up with a pair one size bigger or smaller based on the comfort levels. πŸ™‚ Aah.. our never ending shoe problems!. Good luck with the walking thing Visha. πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

  6. New balance. . Shoes do you get them.. I have been using them for a long time now..
    Or get them made according…

    All the best but hey I know money is more but if you buy a good quality high end and they last longer then it’s money worth spent.

    Need to try once at least. .

  7. You are like my hubby! He likes the sandal type foot wear that will cover almost the entire foot since his feet become real dry if he wear open footwear.

    However, any brand or any quality of sandal I buy him, it won’t last beyond 4 months or maybe 6 months maximum if we are lucky. I, on the other hand, buy unbranded footwear from local shops just because they are pretty and pull them off for a long long time.

  8. Hahaha………so so sorry Visha but this was really funny and you are too cute!
    I don’t know if I am lucky or its the quality, even my local footwear lasts more than a year in every condition.
    Infact, I have a pair which I got because of its comfort from a nearby shop, four years back for 400 rs. And they are still in good condition. I never had to visit a cobbler regarding that particular footwear, *touchwood* *touchwood*
    Everytime my sil visits us, she leaves her mochi sandals and wants those ones. We even visited that shop again but they have stopped making them. I just hope that I have not jinxed them now by praising so much!

  9. I do wear them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ no other choice we both share same story.. Most of the time other person will stand on my sandals when I hop bus and I do walk with a backpack and face fully covered with slippers on one hand most of the time πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks to my huge feet, I do not get sandals/shoes in my size easily. Plus I seem to wear them out very, very soon. I try to pick up a couple of pairs whenever I go to Ahmedabad – I never seem to find decent ones in Bangalore. Like you, I don’t invest in high-end footwear.

    It was fun reading your shoe tales! πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

