Achievements

I am not a very ambitious person. I followed realistic goals throughout my school and college and still continue to do the same. But my brother is not like me. He has achieved a lot at this age, and he is three years younger than me. I was never the one to take risks or experiment like him, and now when I see him where he is after all the hard work and dedication, it makes me supremely proud.

But, but, but, I do think I have achieved small successes till date. They may not count as major accomplishments, but from my point of view, they are very important to me.

  1. Getting an engineering seat based on my merit and not any donation. I studied in a Govt. Engineering College and had got the last seat in my choice of city. I celebrated it with my father eating hot hot kala jamuns right outside the seat counselling center.
  2. I got a job soon after college, when recession was at its peak.
  3. Coming from a nuclear family, I became a part and parcel of a big, joint family very quickly. I sometimes have elders coming to me for my opinions which makes me feel important πŸ˜€
  4. I went off sugar sometime mid AprilΒ in 2013. I followed it diligently, not giving in to temptation, even during my pregnancy. Post Moo, I ate sweets now and then, just so that I do not hurt the family friends who brought loads of sweet boxes, but that too just a bite of the sweet, in front of them πŸ˜‰
  5. I relieved my mom of sleepless nights as soon as Moo finished one month. She did more than she could do, looking after me, Moo and the house in general. Once she had rest throughout the night, only one of us started looking like a zombie πŸ˜†
  6. Cooking non-veg fare without tasting. All the times I have cooked in the last couple of months, I have got compliments that it is perfect.

That’s all I have achieved which I am very happy about, in this little life of mine.

24 thoughts on “Achievements

  1. These are some super good achievements Visha πŸ™‚ I so want to try cooking atleast chicken for S.. but it seems near to impossible. The fact that he doesn’t want me to even try is not helping at all..

  2. Achievements 3 and 4 are no joke Visha! Hats off!

    And yeah, getting into a college of choice on merit is something that you can be proud of all your life πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. You are so awesome. You make me feel like an under achiever really. When I tried to think of things i had achieved, I could come up with nothing 😦

  4. Hi Visha,

    I read your blog for its warmth and simplicity. This post made me comment. I love all of your achievements! Just perfect!

    Happy New Year,
    SS

  5. Hi-five there! I consider myself to be a not-so-ambitious person. But you have done so much in so many different ways. Hats off! Especially cooking perfectly without tasting? I can never do it.

  6. These are good achievements only. πŸ™‚

    How on earth did you relieve your mother of sleepless nights after just one month of Moo being born? Bubboo is 2 months old, and my mother is still not rid of sleepless nights. 😦 Gosh, you make me feel guilty now.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      As I said, she was worn out completely and I wanted her to rest. Moo used to be up by 5:30, and thats when my dad would be back from his morning walk, so he used to take her away and I would sleep till 8 πŸ™‚

Would love to read your views :)

