Tech-ache

With the advent of numerous devices to stay constantly connected to the virtual world, it has drastically reduced the couple time between us. The other times when we could have spent quality time together invariably end up with discussions of the daughter – what she did, her latest tantrums, etc..etc.. It is not quite uncommon for us to exchange WhatsApp chats like “Has the dragon slept?” even when we are a room apart. Zack comes in home at 9:30 and Moo vehemently refuses to go to sleep unless she had her fair share of daddy time. By the time she falls asleep which is around 11, Zack goesΒ neck deep in his laptop in the melee of catching up with news, movies and when not doing all of these things – WhatsApp-ing. His office has such an internet policy which debars him from using social media and basically accessing all things which can be classified under time-pass.

Before we owned the laptop and internet at home, we used to do stuff together- like talk about what happened at work, who got hitched, good vacation spots, family functions..you get the drift. But that was the time before we had Moo. With her arrival, the equations have changed completely. There is a lot more me-time than us-time. From the time Moo wakes up, Zack looks after her till he leaves for work – making her eat breakfast, taking her for walks, putting her to sleep and playing with her. During that time, I finish the household work, cooking, cleaning and sit down for some time reading the newspapers. At night, when I am done with all the work and ready to make the little dragon go to sleep, he leaves us two to ourselves. I cherish this period which I spend with Moo. I (try to) tell her stories, play peekaboo, sing lullabies and finally when she is tired, she comes to me and sleeps on my lap. I am half asleep by the time all the lights are switched off. I was not this tired at the end of the day when Moo was still an infant. Once she started walking, there is not a place which has been undiscovered by her, which does not involve pulling things and throwing them all around, eating and putting all things in mouth except her food, squealing and running away from me when I find her holding something which is not her toy and I admit it tires me out completely at the end of the day. When I speak about the lack of spending time with Zack, he in his zen mode states – “You should rest when she rests.”

So what I think is if we had no smartphones, laptops, basically no internet, we would find at least some time for ourselves. Thank God for weekends, were we go out together for walks or I would have resorted to changing the internet password πŸ‘Ώ 😈

16 thoughts on “Tech-ache

  1. Liked the word ‘tech-ache’

    I guess every family / household suffers from this phenomenon called technology these days now…

    we follow “no screen day/time” wherein no laptops/mobiles/tv/tab/compuer is allowed to be switched on or used… strictly family time πŸ™‚

  2. You can never separate men from their gadgets and internet. Trust me, I have experimented a lot, but still no success.
    I guess you would have to be on your toes as Moo is going to get more active by the day πŸ™‚

  3. So if us time is important to you there are some things you can do. For us as a start, we both sat with our respective gadgets on the couch together after the baby slept. We might not have even talked to each other really on some evenings but the sitting together in itself is awesome sometimes

    • That happens…when I use my mobile and he uses the laptop in silence…but I miss the old times when we did not have internet at home!

Would love to read your views :)

